Thread: dual booting xp and mandrake 10.0

Thanks

Question dual booting xp and mandrake 10.0

how do i dual boot xp and mandrake 10.0 community editon? i did it b4 by having xp installed first then setting up mandrake...BUT when i did it erm wouldnt work when i selected lwindows.mandrake ran fine tho. so what do i need to do to dual boot both.

Thanks
    I just dropped into the software section to ask for advice on the same thing.

I have never used a linux operating system before, well apart from Knoppix, and only when I was having comp probs and needed an OS working quickly. Such a great idea to have a CD-rom booting OS.

Anyway, I am running XP Pro SP1 and have downloaded the DVD of Mandrake 10 to try. So if I install it am I likely to get any problems ? Is there anything I should make sure I do ?

Right now, as you can see in my sig, I have 3 hard drives, the 40 gig with windows XP on it, and I plan to install mandrake on abouit 30Gig of free space on my 160Gig Sata drive. Now since I haven't used a linux OS before I need some advice on which partition type I should use ? There quite a few to choose from ... I take it its not the greatest idea to chose FAT32, so what should I use? (Am just installing mandrake on a virtual pc right now so I can see all the choices )

Would appreciate any advice

Thanks
    Desktop: AMD Athlon XP 2500+ Barton, 1024Mb PC-3200 TwinMOS w/Winbond, MSI K7N2 Delta-ILSR, Radeon 9800SE AIW, 40 GB 7,200 Rpm Hitachi Deskstar, 120GB 7,200 Rpm 8mb Cache Maxtor Diamond 9, 160GB 7200 Rpm 8mb Cache Seagate 7200.7 SATA, Plextor 708A 8x DVD-RW, 550W PFC Q-tec PSU, Casetek 1019SM Silver Case, Camdridge Soundworks DTT2200 Speakers

Laptop: Clevo D470W - 17" Widescreen TFT, Intel Pentium4 3.06Ghz 533FSB, 1024Mb PC-2700 Hynix, Radeon Mobility 9000 64Mb, Fujitsu 80Gb 4,200rpm, 250Gb 7,2000rpm 8mb Cache Maxtor OneTouch, Toshiba SD-R6372 DVD-RW +/- x4, Built-in Four speakers, webcam and microphone

Thanks
    me too...any ideas guys

Thanks