Thread: Beginner - Hosting / WordPress / Workflow

Thanks

Red face Beginner - Hosting / WordPress / Workflow

I've decided to put my photos and other things on one website, but I am a super beginner. Basically, I got peeved a few people ripped photos from my flickr account and used them in their websites.

The hosting summary as a sticky was pretty awesome, so I've settled on QiQ. They are a little pricey, but there are quite a few good testimonials on there. Not actually paid yet. My plan is not to have sites with loads of sub directories (like www. example.com/bananas), but to use sub domains (like bananas.example.com). QiQ is quite expensive when it comes to that...

Now, I know NOTHING about building a simple site/blog so I was going to get WordPress and create something offline, and when I get it how I want it to look and content then upload it to the hosting site. There is no reason for choosing wordpress other than I've used it online for a couple of blogs and it's simple, so I assume it's going to be a similar experience building a site using the WP package. I also don't know how well WP works with sub domains. I don't have the time, patience or skill to build something from scratch. If there are better/more viable alternatives, I am open to any and all suggestions.

Since messing around with photos in LR, I've become very "workflow" aware and it's common sense to do work offline then upload it to the hosting site. However, starting, I was thinking of actually making it offline first and when ready, get my domain name and hosting package. Any help/suggestions with workflow would be really useful.

The long and the short of it, is that I can't "wing it" and I don't want to rush off to get a hosting package and domain name.

Any help is much appreciated.

P.S. In my head I have the idea of a simple landing/about page using example.com and then going to different aspects of "my site" through apples.example.com, bananas.example.com etc.

Splash