Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Uni Group Project : Software Engineering

Thanks

Uni Group Project : Software Engineering

Hi

I'm currently in my 3rd year Studying Computing and Information, and this semester we have a Subject called Software Engineering, which is basically making something in a group. Now, having talked to my group, we fancy trying something along the lines of a Website, connected to a database, say for Cars for sale or something, or even houses.

Users would be able to search for them by criteria, and even be able to put items on the site, and upload some pics etc. But, what would be the best way to do this?

Would it be possible to code the database in Access, or would it have to be done in MySQL, and how would the web front to it work?

Any input on this would be much appreciated, we really want to try something new, rather than us programming in Java all semester to produce something useless, like a Bar Chart making in Java or something.

Hopefully someone can offer advice

David

HEXUS.net Webmaster
    Thanks
    you can code the database in access but to avoid any licence issues you'd be better with a PHP/MySQL approach. Your only issue might be when you have to demo it as I'm assuming you won't have easy to access to an Apache/MySQL setup unless you have a laptop or are willing to pay for some hosting.