Thread: Hard drive failed, reconfigure storage?

Thanks
    • Percy1983's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte x570 Aorus Pro
      • CPU:
      • AMD 5900x + Cooler Master Nepton 140XL
      • Memory:
      • 64GB (4x16GB ) Corsair Vengence 3200mhz @ 3600mhz CL16
      • Storage:
      • 1tb SP US75 Boot + Fast 4tb SP XS70 + Slow Raid 0 4tb (2tbx2) with 100gb NVME cache
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Vega 56 8GB
      • PSU:
      • 875w Thermaltake Toughpower XT
      • Case:
      • Thermaltake Level 10 GT Snow Edition
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 11 Pro 64bit
      • Monitor(s):
      • 24" Acer UHD x2
      • Internet:
      • Vodafone

Hard drive failed, reconfigure storage?

First things, I run backups and a UPS for the below setup to work safely, so here is my current setup. I am a photographer/videographer for refence. The failed drive is a 2014 drive so not bad going

1, 16GB ram cache, caching the below>

2,500gb NVME PCIE3 boot drive, 250gb NVME PCIE3 cache on the below.

3, 4TB raid 0 array (2x2TB HDs) current work in progress
    4TB raid 0 array (2x2TB HDs) storage, games, completed work (one drive failed here).

Hopefully that makes sense and in some ways this has been a historic and evolving setup to which I wouldn't build this if starting all new now.

Plans to fix.

1, get another 2TB HD rebuild/restore continue (not doing this as other drive is similar age), get a new 4tb HD and carry one. around £80.

2, replace with 2x2tb sata ssds in raid, Crucial MX500s currently £127.05 so £254.10 in cost or single 4Tb MX500 for 256.06.

3, replace boot drive with 4TB nvme drive, Crucial P3 plus available for £330 seems a good deal (I understand the limitations on sustained writes).and use other nvme to still cache remaining storage.

In both 2 and 3 I will then have faster/slower storage so will move things to fit better (Ie current work and games on faster with completed work and storage on the slower).