Thread: Samsung Spinpoint F1 (1TB) and N5200BR

Thanks

Samsung Spinpoint F1 (1TB) and N5200BR

Hello folks,

Today I received two of these drives and installed one into the Thecus. Just the blue power led lights up but no drive access to be noted. Also in the webinterface I do not see the drive appear.

I have a N5200BR (non-PRO) currently running with 3 disks (2 WD caviars and 1 seagate) on raid 5.

I am wondering about any prelimenary steps that might need to be taken to get the N5200 to see the drive. I am still a newbie in using this device so if any one of you has ever come across the same behaviour and found the solution, please let me know. I bought these drives as they have very good specs and I'm pretty sure they will work somehow but the question right now is ...how?

I'm still a newbie and bought the Thecus with the other drives installed for me so I have no clue about the behaviour when a disk is added.

As soon as I know more myself I'll post an update.

wsc
    Thanks

Re: Samsung Spinpoint F1 (1TB) and N5200BR

Hi,

I have a N5200BR Pro with three Samsung HD103UJ (Firmware 1AA0) on raid-5 now working fine. But at the beginning, I also had the problem that one of them could not be accessed (yellow LED) but the blue LED was on. In the Web-Admin it wasn't shown.

The Problem was that it was not fully pulled in the HDD-Bay. I have pressed the HDD a little bit more into the device and it worked...

Maybe the Samsung HDD's are a little bit smaller or the SATA-contacts?
    So I would recommend you, that you check whether your HDD's are really at the end of the HDD-Bay.

Best regards,
    Werner Scholze

(Sorry for my bad english. I hope it was understandable)

Thanks

Hi Werner,

Thank you very much for your reponse. After spending a long afternoon I finally found the reason for this behaviour.

Let me start saying that after this 'fight' the drives are recognized fine and there are no issues anymore. Here's the story: