• Cooler Master Elite 120
      • Operating System:
      • Linux Arch/Mint/Windows 7 Ult. 64bit/OS X
      • Monitor(s):
      • 23" iiyama IPS
      • Internet:
      • Meh

Seriously Apple!? (MBA)

Rant warning... beware all ye who enter.

I got a 2014 13" MBA over the summer for a very good price, it only really exists for coding (C++, though heavy tests are done on desktop either ssh or in person), LaTeX, and web-browsing/pdfs for lecture notes. It was supposed to a nice small and light laptop that I could carry around all the time. (Aside: I couldn't actually get any other brand laptop with the similar weight, battery life and specs for the price - it was a very compelling deal).

So I've been using it as above since I started back mid September and it's been great so far (other than a very slightly wobbly trackpad I've been meaning to have adjusted). Today, when I was cleaning the screen I noticed a few little lighter dots that wouldn't go away. So I gave it a bit of a scrub with a damp microfibre cloth and buffed it all again. Hmm. Still there. A line of little white dots about 2/3 of the way up the screen, crossing roughly the central 1/2-2/3 of the screen.
    Investigation ensued: gentle poke, definitely physical, fingernail (very gently) notices a slight roughness. So physical damage. Looking around to see what could have caused the damage I half closed the lid. Then I saw it. The edge raised aluminium section between the keyboard and trackpad matches the marks perfectly. So flawed by design?