Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Half Life II Vid.

Banned
    Thanks

Half Life II Vid.

Well, having just watched the 687mb video, comprising of a source engine demonstration and a good 20 minutes or so of game footage, I am completely blown away.

I've been playing computer and video games since about 1985 on the good old rubber-keyed ZX Spectrum 48k, and over the years, I've seen a handful of games, that got me really excited (although not aroused, you understand?); the first time I glimpsed Tekken running on the Playstation, the thought of a 64bit version of Super Mario Kart, and a few others throughout the years.

Now, I've not played the first Half Life, nor until recently, did I really bother with PC games (before my 9800pro, I've never even owned a proper 3D Card before), but I can honestly say, that I've never seen anything which looks, sounds or feels anywhere near as good as Half Life II.

The video starts with a demonstration of the source engine, which opens with a close up of the G-Man (an Agent Smith style character) looking like he did in Half Life; he then appears on the screen as he will look in Half Life II, which is the best human face I've seen in a game, which considering the face alone mimics the actions of 40 muscles, is not surprising.

G-Man then speaks, in English and some foreign language, before demonstrating various emotions, such as sadness, fear etc. They are all greeted with gasps and laughter from the assembled audience.

Then various textures and materials are put through the same process; wood is fire at with a gun, and splinters like wood, barrels fall and bounce realistically, and a dead body is thrown through the air, all looking perfect.

Next there is a brief section of effects, from water reflections to various visual effects. All mind-blowing, and hard to describe. So watch the vid.