Thread: Restricting Printing

Registered+
    Thanks

Question Restricting Printing

Hi,
    I work in a school and we have large volumes of users and computers. The problem we have is that teachers are printing their class hand-outs/sets on the network printers, which is wasting resourses and costing the school a bit of money. The stupid thing is that the school has some really good repographics facilites, which would make the cost of this type of printing cheap (in comparision). However, as you can imagine, the teachers are lazy and stupid, and can't be bothered to walk all the way over to repographics (but it's not really that far, lol).

So, the thing I need to ask is this; do any of you know of any way to restrict the number of copies per print job that a user does (in group policy, for example), or any piece of software that will do this job for me?

I mean I've found a few pieces of really good software that control/monitor printer usage, but they seem to control everything else apart from this one thing, which is obvioulsly quite frustrating becuase we have a program to do all the other stuff, it's just this one function we need. =/

Thanks for you time,
    Rob

Thanks
    I was teaching in a school, and printing class hand-outs/sets on the network printers.
    We had good reprographics facilities, which would have made the cost of printing cheap.

I hardly used them because reprographics worked at their own pace, and as I had produced the final version usually about 30min before teaching the class, it was unfeasable to go over to reprographics and be told "Yes we can do it for you. We're in the middle of doing a big run of prospectus', so it can be ready for next wednesday afternoon. Maybe."

Being lazy and stupid, I was obviously doing the wrong thing in spending all my time preparing lessons, teaching, and doing admin. On Tuesdays, I was in from 8am until 9pm, with a break 12.30-1.00, and 3.15-3.20.