Thread: Win XP 64-bit New System Build

Registered+
    Thanks

Win XP 64-bit New System Build

Hello folks.

May I pick your brains for a little while?

I'm awaiting delivery of components for a complete new build.

The main spec is:

Gigabyte GA P35C DS3R
    Intel Core 2 Duo E4300
    Corsair QuadX2 XMS2 CL5 (4x1GB) XMS2, DDR2 PC2-6400 (800)
    PowerColor Radeon X1950 Pro 512Mb Arctic Cooling
    Arctic Cooling Arctic Freezer Pro 7
    Antec 900 case (with every fan slot filled!)
    HiperPower 730W PSU

and a few drives, etc.

My question is thus:

I'm hoping to use Windows XP 64-bit as the OS. I've identified all the relevant drivers for the various bits of hardware, peripherals, etc that I'll be using, and everything looks ok. But (a) I've never built a computer before, and (b) I have never used a 64 bit OS.

Firstly, I want to get the build up and running properly in stock spec and I really want to know if there are any issues related to the 64 bit OS that I should be aware of.

Secondly, when I get the system stable, I want to try to overclock the rig to as close to 3 GHz as possible. I've read the overclocking guide here (it's what led me to this site, and I have to say it was very VERY informative - kudos to the author) and it seems reasonably easy (if not time-consuming and repetive) to do with a C2D CPU. But will the 64-bit OS throw up any hurdles that will frustrate my attempts? Is overclocking the same (in principle) for a 64-bit OS as it is for a 32-bit OS?

Any suggestions (other than "get someone else to do it for you" ) will be most welcome.

Yours

T42

Thanks
    • mroz's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte P35-DS4 rev 1.1
      • CPU:
      • Q6600 G0 @ 2.4GHz (was @ 3.2GHz), TRU120X (lapped) + Sythe S-Flex 1600rpm
      • Memory:
      • Corsair 6GiB DDR2 Twin2X 6400 C4 (was 2GiB)
      • Storage:
      • Samsung Spinpoint 500GB x 2
      • Graphics card(s):
      • GTX 460 (was Gigabyte 7600GS passive)
      • PSU: