Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Smoked Salmon

Thanks

Smoked Salmon

Hiya, I'm a great lover of smoked salmon(aren't we all?), but I have a problem with it that I'm hoping either has a solution, or a get around.

Whenever it gets heated in the least(even just from other warm food) it becomes all like regular salmon, which, in all honesty, isn't my favourite thing. I don't dislike it, but I do love smoked salmon, so was wondering if theres any way of avoiding this de-smokification that happens upon being dished with even warm food.

Obivously I'm an utter noob to cooking stuff, but I'm curious, so, please help

Thanks
    I know what you mean, it can go a bit to old fishy tasting. But my girfirend as an AMAZING receipe (also nice in scrambled eggs). The key is to put it in the dish right at the last minute before serving.

Thanks
    There's quite a lot of variation in the taste of smoked salmon, so try different ones before you settle on something. A more smokey, strongly flavoured one's needed to stand up to cooking.

I second that you only add it right at the end - it shouldn't even go opaque of you get the timing right, it should just warm through. Try it on tagliatelle, with some (small tub for two people) creme fraiche, lemon juice (one lemon per two people), and dill. Just cook the pasta, and chuck the salmon in last, letting the heat from the pasta warm it through. Serve it straight away, with white wine (this is a great meal to impress people with too, and it takes about 15mins all in to cook).

Thanks
    Thanks guys, will try both the last minute suggestion and the stronger smokey salmon if I can too.

Wil try that recipe you give as well nameinuse, all I needs some creme freiche, so I think I'm making dinner tomorrow night

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by nameinuse