Thread: Small HTPC Help Needed.

Thanks

Question Small HTPC Help Needed.

Hello.
    I am new to the world of computers,my great grandson got me interested,so no complicated jargon.it is him who said you lads would sort me out,so here go's.
    I want to build a small computer just to record from the television and then copy to dvd disc,and also transfer video from video tape in the VCR,the computer will not be used for gaming.
    Also how would i conect it to my television?.and as it will only be used for the above ,will i need a keyboard and mouse or is there another way of controling it ?
    Can someone help me out and advise on what hardware to use?
    and anyother thing that i should no before tackling the above?.
    I also have a digital freeview set top box,can it be conected in to a set up as above ?.or would i have to change this ?.
    Thanks in advance.
    Last edited by OLDBOY; 05-01-2004 at 09:49 PM.

Arrrrrrrgh!
    Thanks
    Hi there, welcome to the forums!

By the sounds of it you will want a lowish end shuttle. They can be boguht from all sorts of online stores and something like a Shuttle SN45G which will be around £150.

This is the basis to which you need to add a processor and with this box it has to be an AMD, I would have thought an AMD Throughbred 2200 XP would be enough.

RAM wise, 512Mb of DDR ram would be plenty, Twinmos do a dual channel kit (which is two separate 256MB sticks, then when put in the two slots in the shuttle enable it to run faster than if there was just one 512Mb stick) which can be had for about £55.

You'll want a big hard drive if you want to use it to record and store TV. A 120Gb would do, the Samsung SP1213N 120GB 8MB Cache is fast and quiet and about £70.

For burning DVDs the Pioneer DVR-106 4x DVD±RW is very good value at about £90 and you can use pretty much any media with it.