Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 16 of 28

Thread: Another "New PC, thoughts please" Thread (£1200 Budget)

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    59
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked
    0 times in 0 posts

    Another "New PC, thoughts please" Thread (£1200 Budget)

    Ok first things first.... I'm building a new gaming rig and I have an exact budget of £1200. I need a Case, CPU, MB, SATA HD, GFX, DVDRW, TFT, RAM, PSU and a Saitek Eclipse Keyboard ....

    Anyway so far heres what I have put together for £1000 excluding a TFT which if my a level maths serves me correctly leaves £200 give or take for a TFT.

    MB Asus A8N-SLi Premium (scan) (pretty set on)
    CPU AMD Athlon 64 3700 San Diego 1MB L2(scan) (pretty set on)
    GFX edit: 256Mb Gigabyte 7800GT (scan) (pretty set on)
    RAM 2Gb (2x1Gb) Corsair DDR400/PC3200 Value Select (scan) (pretty set on)
    PSU 430W Tagan 2Force T430-U22 SLi U-Quiet 21db (scan) (not that set on)
    HD edit: 250GB Samsung SpinPoint SATA II (scan) (fairly set on)
    CASE Raidmax Ninja (xcase) (set on)
    KYB Saitek Eclipse Keyboard (ebuyer) (really set on for sum stupid reason)
    DVD edit:NEC ND-3540A Black 16x16 DVD±RW (scan) (set on)

    Just wondering if you guys think this is good value/good choice/compatible etc

    I need a TFT for this badboy, a black, DVI, low response timed, sexy, good value badass TFT. I was thinking about the 19" Digimates Specials from Aria but they seem ugly , and aint black. Hopefully the case, keyboard and monitor will all be black with nice blue illumination.

    One last thing. I'm probably gonna overclock this thing in the future with a new HSF but only enough to get the 3700 matching 4000 clock speeds, will the Corsair Value RAM be up to it. I can't afford 2GB of Twinx . Also once 7800GTX prices are really low i'll SLI this bad boy up. I have a feeling that 430W will be fine: I'm not gonna have more than 1 HD and 1 DVDRW drive in this rig.

    Thanks for reading
    Last edited by herman368; 30-08-2005 at 02:16 PM.

  2. #2
    Registered+
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    33
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked
    0 times in 0 posts
    For the DVD drive, I think you should go with the NEC 3540A. This comes in a black model like the one you've already chosen. This baby will write everything except DVD-RAM at the fastest speeds, and you can get it for less than £30.

    In addition, I would ensure that the harddrive you've chosen is SATAII and NCQ capable.

  3. #3
    Moderator DavidM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    8,776
    Thanks
    798
    Thanked
    252 times in 234 posts
    Nec is definately a nice drive

    (Please PM me and I'll see if we're getting the Saitek Keyboard in at all...)

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    59
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked
    0 times in 0 posts
    Yeah I just picked a random black drive when I chose that Sony one.... thanks DocUK

    oooo that wud so awesome if ur getting that in stock i cud save me some cash from buying from ewww....ebuyer...yuk...
    ps probly goin out on a limb here, but u aint happen to be planning to get stock of any non-psu raidmax ninja's?

  5. #5
    Moderator DavidM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    8,776
    Thanks
    798
    Thanked
    252 times in 234 posts
    I'd have to check on the keyboard with purchasing... sorry - don't know about the other?

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    59
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked
    0 times in 0 posts
    Cheers mort, anyway any one else got any opinions on this badboy?

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Norwich
    Posts
    247
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked
    1 time in 1 post
    Get a DFI board and a venice 3200+ and you can easily clock upto 3500+

    and save yourself abotu £100

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Norwich
    Posts
    247
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked
    1 time in 1 post
    oh and dont get a maxtor HD, they are in short, crap.

    highly recommend a Samsung SpinPoint.

  9. #9
    Treasure Hunter extraordinaire herulach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Bolton
    Posts
    5,618
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked
    172 times in 159 posts
    • herulach's system
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI Z97 MPower
      • CPU:
      • i7 4790K
      • Memory:
      • 8GB Vengeance LP
      • Storage:
      • 1TB WD Blue + 250GB 840 EVo
      • Graphics card(s):
      • 2* Palit GTX 970 Jetstream
      • PSU:
      • EVGA Supernova G2 850W
      • Case:
      • CM HAF Stacker 935, 2*360 Rad WC Loop w/EK blocks.
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1
      • Monitor(s):
      • Crossover 290HD & LG L1980Q
      • Internet:
      • 120mb Virgin Media
    If ou can stretch to it go for a 3800 san diego, the extra cache is noticeable in a lot of things. Id also be tempted to go for a 7800GT instead of a GTX, will save you a tidy sum, that you can then put toward getting a great monitor rather than a merly decent one.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    59
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked
    0 times in 0 posts
    herulach: the 3700 is a San Diego so it has 1mb l2 cache, you can't get a 3700 Venice. I dont think you can get a 3800 San Diego either....

    Anyway I think I'll settle for the 7800GT, even tho its soo tempting to have *the best*

    And I think the 250GB Spinpoint with SATAII looks nice....

    So now I have £200 roughly for a TFT.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    2,028
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked
    34 times in 29 posts
    • YorkieBen's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte P35-DS3R
      • CPU:
      • C2D E4600
      • Memory:
      • 4 x 1GB PC6400 Corsair XMS
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Leadtek 8800GT
      • PSU:
      • Corsair 520W
      • Case:
      • Silverstone TJ06
      • Monitor(s):
      • Philips 20" Widescreen
      • Internet:
      • Post Office Broadband
    its a 3700 San Diego

    the 3800 is a Venice core (less cache, more MHZ)

    the hard drive I would get one of the new Samsung SATA 2 drives (scan has them) supposed to be very fast and pretty cheap as well.

    I would go for a 7800GT and spend another 150-250 on a really good 17" dvi TFT. If there is one thing I wouldnt skimp on it is the the TFT. I spent alot on mine and Im so glad I did.

    Scan sells the Viewsonic VX724 17" TFT monitor (black, DVI) for £232. Custom PC magazine said in their last issue it is the best one they tested. It comes with a DVI cable in the box which alot of tfts with a dvi connection dont do.

  12. #12
    not posting kempez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Basingstoke
    Posts
    3,204
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked
    0 times in 0 posts
    Looks pretty sweet to me. The 7800GT should be sweet, the 3700+ Diego may be better (or a 3800+ X2) and get a DFI board and clock it to FX speeds

    Apart from that looks sweet...dya need an OS??
    Check my project <<| Black3D |>>
    Quote Originally Posted by hexah
    Games are developed by teams of talented people and sometimes electronic arts

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    59
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked
    0 times in 0 posts
    That Viewsonic looks alrite but I've read mixed reviews about it. Its a tad too expensive but I'm stuck between that, 17" Iiyama E431S-B3S Black (£195) and one of ebuyers cheapish LG offerings.

    Kempez, do you think I cud overclock to FX speeds with that RAM? Btw i don't need an OS...

  14. #14
    Treasure Hunter extraordinaire herulach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Bolton
    Posts
    5,618
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked
    172 times in 159 posts
    • herulach's system
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI Z97 MPower
      • CPU:
      • i7 4790K
      • Memory:
      • 8GB Vengeance LP
      • Storage:
      • 1TB WD Blue + 250GB 840 EVo
      • Graphics card(s):
      • 2* Palit GTX 970 Jetstream
      • PSU:
      • EVGA Supernova G2 850W
      • Case:
      • CM HAF Stacker 935, 2*360 Rad WC Loop w/EK blocks.
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1
      • Monitor(s):
      • Crossover 290HD & LG L1980Q
      • Internet:
      • 120mb Virgin Media
    Thats me getting confused there. Not enough coffee today by a long stretch.

    If you dont desperately need a monitor how about waiting a couple of weeks months till you can afford a good quality 19" one? Scan have the l90D for 290quid. Or you can pick up the LG 1980Q for 300, fantastic monitor.

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    59
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked
    0 times in 0 posts
    I honestly don't need a 19" monitor as its going to be moved around a lot when going to/from uni and I don't want something too big on my desk at uni. It doesnt make any difference if I wait or not, I'm not gonna be any richer in a few weeks lol.....

    ohhhh myyyyy goodddd that LG is sexy, but sooo expensive noooooooooooooooooooo

  16. #16
    Treasure Hunter extraordinaire herulach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Bolton
    Posts
    5,618
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked
    172 times in 159 posts
    • herulach's system
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI Z97 MPower
      • CPU:
      • i7 4790K
      • Memory:
      • 8GB Vengeance LP
      • Storage:
      • 1TB WD Blue + 250GB 840 EVo
      • Graphics card(s):
      • 2* Palit GTX 970 Jetstream
      • PSU:
      • EVGA Supernova G2 850W
      • Case:
      • CM HAF Stacker 935, 2*360 Rad WC Loop w/EK blocks.
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8.1
      • Monitor(s):
      • Crossover 290HD & LG L1980Q
      • Internet:
      • 120mb Virgin Media
    Quote Originally Posted by herman368
    I honestly don't need a 19" monitor as its going to be moved around a lot when going to/from uni and I don't want something too big on my desk at uni. It doesnt make any difference if I wait or not, I'm not gonna be any richer in a few weeks lol.....

    ohhhh myyyyy goodddd that LG is sexy, but sooo expensive noooooooooooooooooooo
    Didnt realise youwere going to uni, thought you could wait for next paycheck. Even so, a 19" isnt that much bigger to carry and takes up no more desk space than a 17" (well not a lot anyway, obviously some) They do a minature version in 17" though.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •