Thread: raid config??

Thanks

raid config??

I have just got another WD 80 gig 8mb, so now i have 2 and was wondering if i should put them in raid 0, so that they would be very fast, (but if anything went wrong!)
    Do both drives have to be empty when setting up the raid?
    or shall i just leave em?

Banned
    Thanks
    Leave them. Speed gains are over-inflated anyway and seriously not worth the risk nor hassle to normal users. If you want to experiment go ahead as it must be tempting but I'd leave RAID well alone personally. AFAIK you'd have to wipe your current drive too.

TiG
    Walk a mile in other peoples shoes...
    Thanks
    See I disagree here, I love my stripped array, I find disk accesses a lot smoother than i used to. I've been running them since Feb 2003 like this with 0 problems so far.

You have to re-install if you are going to use raid tho. Windows will need F6 pressing when you install and the floppy disk containing the raid controller drivers adding.

Not much more of a better reason for an install if you ask me

TiG
    -- Hexus Meets Rock! --

Thanks
    hmmm, i still dont know if the speed will be fast enough to justfy the hassell and risk! was it very noticable (the speed?)

TiG
    Walk a mile in other peoples shoes...
    Thanks
    Well i noticed the difference, I could quote you all the benchmarks to show you % increase, but sadly i don't believe in that, what i can say however is that I won't be going back to non raided drives from now on.

Things copy and install quicker than they used to. Games load slightly faster.

The processor doesn't get as bogged down doing the HD access as the raid controller is helping do it.

TiG
    -- Hexus Meets Rock! --

Banned
    Thanks
    I think more people would agree with you TiG rather than me on this one. There's a lot to factor in so be 100% certain RAID0 is for you before you go ahead with it. I'll jot a few points down ...