• Allen's system
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS Maximus VIII Gene
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 6600K
      • Memory:
      • 2 x 8GB Kingston HyperX Predator DDR4-3000
      • Storage:
      • 256GB Samsung 950 PRO NVMe M.2 (OS) + 2 x 512GB Samsung 960 EVO in RAID 0 (Games)
      • Graphics card(s):
      • ASUS ROG Strix GeForce GTX 1080 Ti OC
      • PSU:
      • XFX P1-650X-NLG9 XXX 650W Modular
      • Case:
      • Fractal Design Node 804
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Home 64-bit
      • Monitor(s):
      • 27" BenQ XL2730Z + 23" Dell U2311H
      • Internet:
      • Virgin Media 200Mbps

Angry Newbie in the skies

I'm pretty new to IL-2 Sturmovik and have a few questions. I'm using the Saitek Cyborg Platinum joystick and have the same problem in both IL-2 and MS Flight Sim 2002 in which I can't seem to keep the plane at a steady level. I have made sure the joystick is calibrated correctly and I have also checked flaps but am wondering if there is anything that could be wrong with my hardware. When trying to fly level I either have to hold the joystick all the way forward to keep the nose down and stop myself from climbing, or all the way back to keep the nose up and stop myself crashing as if the joystick is calibrated off centre. This makes it almost impossible to land properly and dogfights totally impossible, as I can’t keep her level.

Please help as the game is fantastic (IL-2 that is!) and I can’t wait to fly online (with a bit of offline practice first) once I get broadband in my room next week sometime.

Thank you in advance for your help.

Al.

Hat
    Thanks
    Sorry if this may be a bit obvious to you.... but seeing as it wasn't mentioned......

Are you using the elevator trim?

Thanks
    • Allen's system
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS Maximus VIII Gene
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 6600K
      • Memory:
      • Storage:
      • 256GB Samsung 950 PRO NVMe M.2 (OS) + 2 x 512GB Samsung 960 EVO in RAID 0 (Games)