Thread: Build advice required!

Thanks

Build advice required!

Hi there,

I've been meaning to upgrade my PC for a while, and after looking around scan seems to have the right balance of good service/quality and reasonable prices to boot. So, given a budget of roughly £1200-£1400 I was hoping for some advice on a new build,

What I actually plan to use it for:

-General internet/Word processing/ etc

-Gaming: Nothing incredibly intense, but being able to play say wow with 60 fps with a browser open and some music on would be ideal. (I have 2 screens atm, and can't use one due to my old old graphics card- the screen I do use is fairly big, 2048x1152, and I'm considering getting another, to replace the other screen I currently don't use when I have my new pc so I'd have 2 2048x1152 screens)

-Mathematica/Matlab etc. I'm soon to be a PhD student, (hopefully) and my research involves moderately intense numerical stuff. I'm not an expert on the inner workings of these programs however, and I'm not sure how the speed of components interact with one another when running a program: put it like this, in the simple versions of programs I have been running, on a 4Gb DDR2 800 mhz ram, Q6600 processor the ram use spikes up to something like 3.5 Gb and the computer becomes unusable for about 30 minutes. Now, I want to be able to run finer programs, and get on with other stuff at the same time, with this in mind is it worth focusing on a faster processor? (wasn't at full load although mathematica is weird with multicore machines it seems) or just throw more (or faster) ram at it? or even an SSD?

Very grateful for any help!

Giqles

(final point, I'm not keen on overclocking, it just worries me! although for the last purpose I suppose it might make sense- as I understand it I just switch the profile in the BIOS to the OC one and switch it back when I don't want the OC?)

Registered+
    Thanks
    • tomferry25's system
      • Motherboard:
      • XFX 750i
      • CPU: