Thread: Nokia 6630/iPAQ 2410 connection / web browsing

Thanks

Nokia 6630/iPAQ 2410 connection / web browsing

I'm currently shopping for both a smartphone and a PDA (don't want a PDA-phone, since (a) I'm a web designer/developer moving into mobile websites, so want two testing devices/screen sizes, and (b) I want 3G - too impatient for GPRS download speed - but DON'T want to fork out for an ugly-heavy JASJAR)).

At present therefore, I'm thinking of getting either a Nokia 6680 or 6630, then using it as a bluetooth modem for an HP iPAQ 2410.

I have some questions I'd appreciate any guidance with:

i) Is the bluetooth modem link between these two devices possible? (I'm aware I can surf using the iPAQ simpy by using my office wi-fi network, but may well want to access the web when out'n'about.)

ii) Web browsing: I checked out the tech spec on the 6630 and the Nokia site says “Web browser with improved HTML support”, referring to a ‘multi-mode’ browser for WAP/HTML/XHTML. The 6680 just says 'HTML/XHTML' in terms of web browsing. My question is: can they both browse the full, www, HTML internet?

It appears from my current provider (Virgin) that 3G is available via my current PAYG SIM - I really want to avoid contract - so I'm hoping that these two devices, plus a quick swap of SIM from my old phone, will deliver all I need.

Before I spend £500 though, can anyone confirm I'm actually talking any sense here? Any thoughts appreciated.

Thanks
    ii) Web browsing: I checked out the tech spec on the 6630 and the Nokia site says “Web browser with improved HTML support”, referring to a ‘multi-mode’ browser for WAP/HTML/XHTML. The 6680 just says 'HTML/XHTML' in terms of web browsing. My question is: can they both browse the full, www, HTML internet?
    Yup, the 6680 definitely comes with a full web-browser. I believe that the current incarnation is based on Opera, but alternatively you can use the branded version of Opera or NetFront. Both work very well.