Thread: Need input for a new NAS setup

Thanks

Question Need input for a new NAS setup

Hello!

I'm new to this forum and to NAS as well.

I am looking for some input to my planned NAS. I am currently using a bunch of portable HDDs, and this has maybe seen its glory days. Now I'm looking into building myself a raid system.

My situation: I am an independent contractor producing video material and I'm also programming a bit. This NAS should also function as a private media server for my MP3-collection and video-stuff.
    Probably gonna be max 4 people working on this server at max, mostly only 1 or 2 guys.

As I've allready told you I'm a noob on NAS and I had actually set my mind on the Thecus N5200Pro, but now I've discovered the N7700 as well.

1: +2 drives and more CPU/RAM...OK, but are there more reasons for going for the N7700? E.g. does the iSCSI let you stream content, and does this work?

2: I've followed the N7700/Seagate 1.5TB discussions. Is this case resolved or is it still "in progress"? I have set my mind on these drives, but do they work OK in the N5200 o the N7700?

3: This is my first experience with RAID and I am interested in different opinions regarding RAID-setups. I was thinking on going for a safe RAID-5 solution, however Im willing to think new here, and for me max storage is prioritized. Any cool setups out there thats worth concidering?

4: How do you guys back up our stuff? if I end up with 6,5 TB (N7700 + 7 x 1,5TB) what kind of backup system handles these amounts of data for a normal guy (kep in mind Im not made out of the green stuff here).

Thanks for all feed back and thoughts...

Registered+
    Thanks

Re: Need input for a new NAS setup

Quote Originally Posted by Katana View Post
    Hello!
    1: +2 drives and more CPU/RAM...OK, but are there more reasons for going for the N7700? E.g. does the iSCSI let you stream content, and does this work?