• Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Premium x64
      • Monitor(s):
      • Dell 2407WFP
      • Internet:
      • Orange (about 6Mb)

am i supposed to pay tax?

im really confused about tax!

firstly i have just signed to a savings account and unsure wether i should of signed up for gross interest (non taxing)

and with work, do they tax me and i have to 'rebate' or something it back?

im a full time college student whos just turned 18, i really didnt want to ring hm customs for help.. LOL

right bed, HEXUS RULES!

Thanks
    • kidzer's system
      • Motherboard:
      • $motherboard
      • CPU:
      • Intel Q6600
      • Memory:
      • 4GB
      • Storage:
      • 1TiB Samsung
      • Graphics card(s):
      • BFG 8800GTS OC
      • PSU:
      • Antec Truepower
      • Case:
      • Antec P160
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7
      • Monitor(s):
      • 20" Viewsonic
      • Internet:
      • ~3Mbps ADSL (TalkTalk Business)

Re: am i supposed to pay tax?

Ah tax, I don't understand it much either - here's my little snippet that might be of help.

I worked over the summer, 5 days a week, 7.5 hours a day - regular-ish office hours, and turned 18 part way through the summer, I paid tax on my earnings then, so I'd imagine you would have to also.

This assumes you are making more than ~£100p/w, as the Tax-Free Threshold is ~£5200p/a I beleive.

I got asked to stay on with this employer now I'm back at Uni, and because I dont now work enough to earn over £100p/w, I'm getting some of the tax I paid over the summer, paid back to me - because although at that time I was earning enough to pay tax, I'm not now, and the tax contributions are calculated cumulativley over the 52 week year (I reiterate, this is my own experience - and I really know nothing about Tax etc, so take what i say with a pinch or two of salt!).

As for the savings account thing, I can't say - but "non-taxed" sounds good to me!