Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Are the latest Graphics Cards overkill for most P4s? Look at mine. Opinions?

Thanks

Question Are the latest Graphics Cards overkill for most P4s? Look at mine. Opinions?

Hi, everyone.
    I'm an avid gamer and amateur video editor gearing up for a Graphics card upgrade in the next few months (currently running Radeon 8500 128MB), and I'm wondering how to know whether my list of potential choices are overkill and a waste of money for my system.
    I'm seriously considering the following:

1. AIW X800XT (for the gaming and video capabilities, it looks good)

2. X850XT Platinum Edition (just a beast that looks like it has a long lifespan)

3. 6800 Ultra (for the Dual DVI and future game compatibility 32 bit fpp that everyone is saying ATI can't do)

For the rest of my system, my philosophy has traditionally been to generally go for the next to last generation of technology. That way it's established, the drivers have matured, and bugs worked out of the system. Finally the price has dropped significantly. Also, if it's new to me, it still seems like the cutting edge over my earlier equipment.

All that being said, here's the system I'm putting together:

-Abit IC7-MAX3 AGP8x mb (with VTT voltage mod for the issues associated with it for OC'ing)

-P4 2.8C (Northwood SL6Z5) for overclocking

-2GB DDR MUSHKIN BLACK LVL2 PC3500 memory (With Winbond BH-5 chips)

-Maxtor Diamondmax 10 200GB 16MB Buffer ATA133 HDD for OS

-Later addition of a pair of SATA RAID0 drives for gaming, multimedia work etc...

-Turtle Beach Santa Cruz PCI sound card

-Windows 2000 with SP4 (okay, okay, maybe XP later)

-Koolance Exos2 water cooling system with CPU, GPU, and HDD coolers

-MGE WIN-600PS 600 Watt Power Supply