Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Would you pay more for a greener machine?

Team HEXUS.net
    Thanks

Would you pay more for a greener machine?

A study has found that users are willing to pay up to an extra £108 for a more environmentally-friendly PC.

Click here for the skinny.

Would you pay more. If so, how much more?

Thanks
    i reckon i'd happily pay £108 extra for a more environmentally friendly PC.

However the study was probably conducted to find some measure of how much computer users care about the environment, and putting a price on it to quantify their results. I'm no material scientist, but would it actually cost more money to manufacture components using 'environmentally friendly' materials? Materials such as arsenic and lead were originally used because they had properties that made them useful and no one really understood very much about their adverse properties. Obviously since, we know a good deal more about these materials. However, manufacturers are generally too lazy to go find alternatives while they are still allowed to produce goods from such materials. And indeed, why would they!

I shall never tire... BEANFro Elite's Avatar
    Thanks
    • BEANFro Elite's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus MAXIMUS IV EXTREME Rev.3.0
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 2600K Sandy Bridge
      • Memory:
      • Corsair Memory Vengeance 8GB DDR3
      • Storage:
      • 240Gb RevoDrive 3 X2, 1x 1TB Maxter DiamondMax 11
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Sapphire ATi HD5970 3GB
      • PSU:
      • Coolermaster Silent Pro Gold 1000W Modular
      • Case:
      • Coolermater Cosmos Pure Black
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
      • Monitor(s):
      • Dell 2209WA
      • Internet:
      • TalkTalk
    I don't actually want a more environmentally friendly PC, I do however want a faster PC!

HEXUS.net Webmaster
    Thanks
    I don't actually want a more environmentally friendly PC, I do however want a faster PC!