Thread: Static IP address help

Thanks

Static IP address help

Hi, I'm new to this, so apologies if this is a common question or whatever.

I have a few questions really.

I have a PS3 and PC which I both use for the internet, but recently the PS3 especially has been losing connection to the internet (in fact, I can only go online for about two minutes on the PS3 now). I have a Belkin router. Any tips?

I wondered if setting up a static IP address might help?

What does it do?

And how do I go about doing that? I've followed instructions on here, but I don't know what IP address to input.

Thanks.

Thanks

Re: Static IP address help

Can't advise on the PS3, but setting it up in your router should be easy.. Your router will have a DHCP table, as an example 192.168.1.2 too 192.168.1.100.. Basically anything within that range will be asigned automatically to any device that connects to the router (your network). IP's are unique to each machine connected.

Two ways to go about things..

1) Remove one from your DHCP, so cut it down to say 192.168.1.99 and asign the one you've gained to your PS3 (191.168.1.100).

2) Choose an IP address outside of the DHCP range. Personelly I always go with the first option as most peeps can afford to lose one or two from the DHCP table as you'll only likely have half a dozen machines connecting, if that. I believe it makes sense to leave a few spare tho.

Whole host of reasons why you'd want a static IP, port fowarding for example. There are also many reasons why even tho you think you do, you don't need one. Top link in google, seems about right.. http://www.zytrax.com/isp/faqs/static.htm