Thread: How to overclock + why etc

Thanks

Question How to overclock + why etc

Hi - I am completely new to computer building and stuff, and have only just built my first one last week (a week today - yay!), and have heard a lot of stuff about overclocking, so I have some questions:

First of all, I'd like to know why people overclock - does it make computers noticably faster - is it worth it?

Secondly, what are the dangers? Is it just overheating the CPU, or is there more?

What I really want to know is is it worth me overclocking? I have an XP 2600+ CPU (more details can be found here), and I'd like to know if I should overclock my system.

Thanks

Thanks
    If I were you I'd only overclock if you have something that doesn't really run well, otherwise I'd leave it until you PC seems to be struggling with the latest stuff.

People overclock 1) because they want to show off! or 2) because you can save money or increase performance

It's difficult to damage the CPU when overclocking as long as you use your common sense. Just do it very slowly, with a decent heatsink and fan, and keep an eye on temperatures and stability (with programs like Prime95). In weather like this, you have to check that your previously fine overclock isn't overheating!
    "Well, there was your Uncle Tiberius who died wrapped in cabbage leaves but we assumed that was a freak accident."

Thanks
    • Howard's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P5B
      • CPU:
      • Core2Duo E6420 2.13GHz
      • Memory:
      • 2x1gb OCZ DDR2 6400
      • Storage:
      • 250GB & 500GB Seagate
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Inno3d iChill 7900GS
      • PSU:
      • Antec SmartPower 500W
      • Case:
      • Coolermaster Elite 330
      • Monitor(s):
      • 2x AG Neovo F419
      • Internet:
      • Virgin Media 20mbit
    Quote Originally Posted by ajbrun
    First of all, I'd like to know why people overclock - does it make computers noticably faster - is it worth it?
    No. Yes.