Thread: Fan Controller vs Using Motherboard

Thanks

Fan Controller vs Using Motherboard

Hi,
    I'm wondering what the best plan of action is to be able to control the 6 fans (Inc cpu) in a Zalman z11 (not mine).
    In my case I've just plugged the 3 fans into the motherboard and can control the speeds with software relating to the temperature of my cpu...
    I'm new to the idea of fan controller so it would be appreciated if someone could give me an overview of why you'd get one and if it would be better than using a PWM splitter on the motherboard...

TIA

Thanks
    • mikeo01's system
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI B85i Gaming
      • CPU:
      • Intel Xeon 1230V3
      • Memory:
      • G.Skill RipJaws 2133MHZ
      • Storage:
      • Plextor M5S 128GB
      • Graphics card(s):
      • VTX3D R9 290
      • PSU:
      • Coolermaster VS450
      • Case:
      • Corsair 250D
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 8 PRO, Ubuntu
      • Monitor(s):
      • LG 22" W2261VP

Re: Fan Controller vs Using Motherboard

May be a bit biased here seen as I have only used low end cheapy fan controllers, but I find fan controllers to be a bit annoying, especially the non-automatic ones.

It's essentially a PCB with different voltage lines connecting up to standard 3/4-pin headers. Then it's a simple case of wiring it up to a molex, usually. I am not sure on some of these high end controllers.

Software seems fine for me, I personally use a splitter, sure may be more cables all over the place. As long as you don't draw the power from the motherboard it's pretty much the same concept.

I personally would prefer PWM splitter with molex adapter because it's just easier and much cheaper. I use all my fans on the single CPU header so they all ramp up with CPU heat.

But that's me

Thanks

The splitter you talked about in your second is probably what I'll get then - the one found uses a molex from the psu and then powers several fans.

Thanks
    • mikeo01's system