Thread: A very peeved customer

Registered+
    Thanks

A very peeved customer

Firstly, I'd like to say that I've been shopping at scan for a few years (about three). I've added the products I've bought up to a little over £3000, so I'm not an insignificant purchaser. I've had mixed deliveries, some have been good, some bad, but I've given you guys the benefit of the doubt in almost every case, instead turning my ire on City-Link and RBS. Not any more.

Last night, I made an order on your website, for an XFX 5870. It was a good price, was in stock, and I selected delivery for Wednesday using the Scan@Hexus delivery scheme. The price was not better than anywhere else, I add, I merely used Scan because they've served me ok in the past. My payment went through, my invoice was printed, and I rapidly passed through the stages of the order. Throughout the day, I was fairly happy because I had confidence in Scan and expected my shiny new 5870, replacing my ageing 8800gts. Whilst I had seen problems in Scan stocking first hand before, I knew that since Scan now openly advertises 'Scan holds stock', my card would already be in City-Link's network for prompt delivery.

That was until I checked my email.

Now, at 9:28am, I get another email. In it, it says:
    The estimated delivery date of your order is 24 Feb 2010 (unless you have requested a Saturday delivery).
    which pleased me, as I wanted to try out the graphics card promptly.

At 6:40pm, nearly 22 hours after I ordered I received this email.

Thank you for your custom. We're writing to give you an update on your order and the out of stock item(s) listed below:

1GB XFX HD5870 DDR5 PCI-E

As detailed in our previous email, the estimated lead date given to us from our suppliers was 16/02/2010.
    Suggested Replacement = 1GB XFX HD5870 XXX 875MHz £279.84 Ex. VAT