Thread: Get Active! Useful info for those new or returning to activity

Thanks

Exclamation Get Active! Useful info for those new or returning to activity

Hi All.

I have contributed to a few posts and replied to some PM's regarding getting active so I thought I‘d do a post with the basic information on getting active.

I’m a sports science graduate but more importantly I’m also an avid exerciser myself with many years lay experience. I have worked in gyms, been a personal trainer, taught group exercise classes, been an exercise counselor with a large exercise on referral scheme, and more recently I have developed and coordinated exercise programmes for those with chronic diseases.

I would therefore like to think of myself as having a little experience in promoting activity. However, I’m always open to learning new things and look forward to “debating” some of the advice offered up here, but in order to do that we are going to start with the basics…..

Physical Activity: This is defined as essentially any bodily movement that uses energy so things like exercise and sports are up there however so is walking, washing the car etc

Physical activity has many benefits including better health and reduced risk for some chronic conditions such as heart disease, it improves energy levels and results in better quality sleeping patterns, better mood and just generally “feeling better”.

If you want to become more active there are questions you have to ask yourself as becoming active can be thought of as a journey with a different starting point and final destination that is as individual as you are and depends on your current activity level, health status, knowledge, skills, ability and desire.

The current guidleinesfor promoting physical activity is based on the adoption of a two-stage approach to increasing activity and fitness levels in which two sets of messages and two broad target groups are identified:

Stage 1: Active Living