Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Buy something else! - N5200 Pro

Registered+
    Thanks

Buy something else! - N5200 Pro

I know its mostly the disgruntled people who post, not the satisfied ones. However here I am, one of the unhappy ones. And I just want to cast a vote in favor of something else in case someone else is on the fence about what to buy.

I bought an Infrant NV+ then refused delivery because I saw so glowing numbers in terms of performance from the Thecus.

In hind sight I'm thinking that that was a mistake.

First of all the 5200 has lost it's config twice in 5 days. The "raid expansion" is a complete joke. Good thing I'm a unix admin for a living or I would never have gotten it done. I ultimately installed ssh, then manually expanded the vg and lv. Then manually resized the filesystem. The web interface is -useless-. All it did was say that there wasn't space to do what i wanted even though it would see that all the drives were in use etc. Supports response was "Try clicking on expand"....... yeah I pretty much tried that already but thanks.

Now this morning for the second time in 3 days I can't login. It is stuck in a loop of saying password is invalid and I'm not authorized. Different browsers, different computers, deleted cookies, blah blah blah... Nothing other than resetting the config will resolve this. Downside...... I lose my config just to regain access. This includes my ACL and all my service state settings.

This is in my opinion an unstable device not fit for production use. I need a NAS to be 2 things. Fast and Stable. I can live with difficult to setup as long as it's fast and Stable. This thing is only fast.

Also.... iscsi was a big selling point for me. However this device will not work with either of the initiators available for OSX. That doesnt help me at all.

Now to see if I can return this thing and find something else. The question is what else is there? All I see are more poor options.