Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 17 to 32 of 112

Thread: **Official ABIT AB9 QuadGT Review/Overclock/Guide Thread**

  1. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    748
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked
    25 times in 25 posts
    • DratUK's system
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS P877-V Pro
      • CPU:
      • I5 3570K with Antec Kuhler 920
      • Memory:
      • 8Gb Corsair Vengance
      • Storage:
      • 120Gb OCZ Vertex 2 Sandforce, 1TB WD
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Palit Jetstream 670
      • PSU:
      • Enermax 720
      • Case:
      • Lian Li A10B
      • Operating System:
      • Win 7 64
      • Monitor(s):
      • Dell 24" 1900x1200
      • Internet:
      • VM 100
    Many thanks Nelly

  2. #18
    I've got a bad feeling about this
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Livingston
    Posts
    518
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked
    12 times in 10 posts
    • doddsy's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
      • CPU:
      • Intel i7-930
      • Memory:
      • 6Gb Corsair PC12800
      • Storage:
      • 2x74Gb Raptors; 1x Samsung 500Gb
      • Graphics card(s):
      • 6870
      • PSU:
      • 500W Enermax Liberty
      • Case:
      • Akasa Eclipse
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 64bit
      • Monitor(s):
      • Dell 2408
      • Internet:
      • 10mb Cable Broadband
    Awesome, because let's be honest. The original kinda sucks.

  3. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Grimsby, UK
    Posts
    426
    Thanks
    76
    Thanked
    54 times in 32 posts
    • Nelly.'s system
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI B450 Tomahawk Max
      • CPU:
      • AMD 3700X
      • Memory:
      • Crucial 32GB 3600C16
      • Storage:
      • Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
      • Graphics card(s):
      • EVGA GTX 1070 SC 8GB @ 1784/4004MHz
      • PSU:
      • Corsair HX 750 Modular PSU
      • Case:
      • Fractal Design Define S
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 64-Bit
      • Monitor(s):
      • NEC 24WMGX3 24" TFT
      • Internet:
      • 70GB Virgin Media Broadband
    Driver section has been updated, the ones dated 30/04/07 are the new ones.

    AMD 3700X MSI B450 Tomahawk Max Crucial 2x16GB 3600C16
    EVGA GTX 1070 SC 8GB @ 1784/4004MHz Corsair HX 750 PSU
    Samsung 830 256GB Creative ZxR Thermalright Silver Arrow
    NEC 24WMGX3 24" TFT Fractal Design Define S Canon MP250

  4. #20
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Randers, Denmark
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked
    0 times in 0 posts
    • Darth Nissan's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Abit AB9 QuadGT
      • CPU:
      • Intel Q6600 SLACR with Thermalright Ultra120-Extreme
      • Memory:
      • 4x1Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC2-8500 CL5
      • Storage:
      • Samsung Spinpoint T166 HD321KJ
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Inno3D 9800GTX 512Mb
      • PSU:
      • Corsair HX-520W
      • Case:
      • Antec Nine Hundred
      • Monitor(s):
      • Samsung Syncmaster 206BW
    Add these to the compatable RAM list :

    OCZ ATI CrossFire certified Edition Dual Channel DDR2 PC2-6400 CAS4 2x1Gb

  5. #21
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked
    0 times in 0 posts

    POST 7F on AB9 Quadgt

    pretty much a Techno noob.

    Just did the first post test, after cycle completed and showing 7f, which I read as check Core voltage.

    Have not flashed updated bios 1.1. yet, as this was first check startup.

    System- E6400 core2 , 2 gigs- recommended Patriot extreme 6400 in dimm slots 1 & 2 Black & blue (only showing single channel 553), 7600GT EVGA.

    HD nor DVD/CD connected as recommended.

    Suggestions comments?

  6. #22
    780 nanometres redlight's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    East Herts
    Posts
    859
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked
    26 times in 19 posts
    • redlight's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Abit QuadGT
      • CPU:
      • Core 2 Quad 6600@3.1
      • Memory:
      • 4GB Geil PC6400
      • Storage:
      • 2x250GB Samsung 400GB Seagate
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Leadtek 8800GTS 640MB
      • PSU:
      • Tagan 580w
      • Case:
      • Gigabyte Aurora
      • Monitor(s):
      • Fujitsu Siemens 22" + 42" plasma
      • Internet:
      • 2MB Tiscali
    If you can get into the bios check to see if it is set to Halt on all errors and if it is change it. I must admit I did not even try mine with the bios it was shipped with as I read about problems so I flashed mine on first boot(wrong I no).

  7. #23
    Senior Citizen.
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    isle of wight
    Posts
    678
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked
    21 times in 14 posts
    • daza's system
      • Motherboard:
      • DFI P35 (the green one)
      • CPU:
      • X3210 @ 3.6ghz 1.38v
      • Memory:
      • OCZ Sli PC8500 @ 1050 mhz
      • Storage:
      • 6x 160gb hitachi Deskstars.
      • Graphics card(s):
      • 8800GTS (640mb) @ 630/2000
      • PSU:
      • 750w Corsair PSU
      • Case:
      • Lian LI V2000
      • Monitor(s):
      • 2x 19" daewoo @ 1440x900
      • Internet:
      • 8meg BT.
    Welcome to the club , check the halt on error thing first then try manually imputting the voltages just switch it from cpu to manual and it should be fine, on the memory front you want one stick in dimm 1 and the other in dimm 3 so theres a gap between them then they should run dual channel.

    Edit forgot my question, has anybody topped out on the v-core voltage as on my E6400 in the bios I'm pushing 1.47v through it but in windows (uGuru) it says 1.43v and every other program tells me the same ???
    Last edited by daza; 06-05-2007 at 01:50 PM.

  8. #24
    780 nanometres redlight's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    East Herts
    Posts
    859
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked
    26 times in 19 posts
    • redlight's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Abit QuadGT
      • CPU:
      • Core 2 Quad 6600@3.1
      • Memory:
      • 4GB Geil PC6400
      • Storage:
      • 2x250GB Samsung 400GB Seagate
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Leadtek 8800GTS 640MB
      • PSU:
      • Tagan 580w
      • Case:
      • Gigabyte Aurora
      • Monitor(s):
      • Fujitsu Siemens 22" + 42" plasma
      • Internet:
      • 2MB Tiscali
    daza mine did exactly the same. I have an E6600 now and the readings are correct.
    cowboy51 I had to set my memory voltage and timings manually.

  9. #25
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked
    0 times in 0 posts
    thanks for the information and help. and letting me jump into the thread with a question.

  10. #26
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Grimsby, UK
    Posts
    426
    Thanks
    76
    Thanked
    54 times in 32 posts
    • Nelly.'s system
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI B450 Tomahawk Max
      • CPU:
      • AMD 3700X
      • Memory:
      • Crucial 32GB 3600C16
      • Storage:
      • Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
      • Graphics card(s):
      • EVGA GTX 1070 SC 8GB @ 1784/4004MHz
      • PSU:
      • Corsair HX 750 Modular PSU
      • Case:
      • Fractal Design Define S
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 64-Bit
      • Monitor(s):
      • NEC 24WMGX3 24" TFT
      • Internet:
      • 70GB Virgin Media Broadband
    Update: New official bios added:-

    BIOS ID:13

    1. Fixed the onboard Ethernet may disappeared after running mem86.
    2. BIOS compiled date: 04/18/2007

    AMD 3700X MSI B450 Tomahawk Max Crucial 2x16GB 3600C16
    EVGA GTX 1070 SC 8GB @ 1784/4004MHz Corsair HX 750 PSU
    Samsung 830 256GB Creative ZxR Thermalright Silver Arrow
    NEC 24WMGX3 24" TFT Fractal Design Define S Canon MP250

  11. #27
    Senior Citizen.
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    isle of wight
    Posts
    678
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked
    21 times in 14 posts
    • daza's system
      • Motherboard:
      • DFI P35 (the green one)
      • CPU:
      • X3210 @ 3.6ghz 1.38v
      • Memory:
      • OCZ Sli PC8500 @ 1050 mhz
      • Storage:
      • 6x 160gb hitachi Deskstars.
      • Graphics card(s):
      • 8800GTS (640mb) @ 630/2000
      • PSU:
      • 750w Corsair PSU
      • Case:
      • Lian LI V2000
      • Monitor(s):
      • 2x 19" daewoo @ 1440x900
      • Internet:
      • 8meg BT.
    And a link to a overclocking guide by cluck for the Quad gt, any questions give me a bell.

  12. #28
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked
    0 times in 0 posts
    I've been struggling with my XP install for days now and I'm really hoping someone can chime in here today and offer some advice. I have 3 SATA drives and 1 SATA DVD burner. I'm not settig up a raid array but want my hard drives to be as fast as possible and my cpu utilization to be as low as possible.

    To this end, I see for the Intel SATA (I'm not enabling the JMicron SATA) there are 3 options. IDE, AHCI, and RAID.

    I cannot do an intall with AHCI enabled. It just hangs at XP setup and get a weird hardware blue screen I've not seen in 5 years. So I need set my SATA to either RAID or IDE.

    Which of those two is faster (remember I'm not setting up a RAID array)? Does one use less cpu resrouces than the other?

    Thanks for the help!

  13. #29
    Senior Citizen.
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    isle of wight
    Posts
    678
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked
    21 times in 14 posts
    • daza's system
      • Motherboard:
      • DFI P35 (the green one)
      • CPU:
      • X3210 @ 3.6ghz 1.38v
      • Memory:
      • OCZ Sli PC8500 @ 1050 mhz
      • Storage:
      • 6x 160gb hitachi Deskstars.
      • Graphics card(s):
      • 8800GTS (640mb) @ 630/2000
      • PSU:
      • 750w Corsair PSU
      • Case:
      • Lian LI V2000
      • Monitor(s):
      • 2x 19" daewoo @ 1440x900
      • Internet:
      • 8meg BT.
    Personally I'd go for IDE mode as thats what Im running and I cant see/sense any slow down and my cpu does nothing when idle so its all good.

  14. #30
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked
    0 times in 0 posts
    Quote Originally Posted by daza View Post
    Personally I'd go for IDE mode as thats what Im running and I cant see/sense any slow down and my cpu does nothing when idle so its all good.
    OK thanks! And should I use the latest inf drivers off Intel's site or the older drivers from Abit's website?

  15. #31
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Grimsby, UK
    Posts
    426
    Thanks
    76
    Thanked
    54 times in 32 posts
    • Nelly.'s system
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI B450 Tomahawk Max
      • CPU:
      • AMD 3700X
      • Memory:
      • Crucial 32GB 3600C16
      • Storage:
      • Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
      • Graphics card(s):
      • EVGA GTX 1070 SC 8GB @ 1784/4004MHz
      • PSU:
      • Corsair HX 750 Modular PSU
      • Case:
      • Fractal Design Define S
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 64-Bit
      • Monitor(s):
      • NEC 24WMGX3 24" TFT
      • Internet:
      • 70GB Virgin Media Broadband
    New review added:- Nordic Hardware Review Covers Overclocking

    AMD 3700X MSI B450 Tomahawk Max Crucial 2x16GB 3600C16
    EVGA GTX 1070 SC 8GB @ 1784/4004MHz Corsair HX 750 PSU
    Samsung 830 256GB Creative ZxR Thermalright Silver Arrow
    NEC 24WMGX3 24" TFT Fractal Design Define S Canon MP250

  16. #32
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Grimsby, UK
    Posts
    426
    Thanks
    76
    Thanked
    54 times in 32 posts
    • Nelly.'s system
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI B450 Tomahawk Max
      • CPU:
      • AMD 3700X
      • Memory:
      • Crucial 32GB 3600C16
      • Storage:
      • Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
      • Graphics card(s):
      • EVGA GTX 1070 SC 8GB @ 1784/4004MHz
      • PSU:
      • Corsair HX 750 Modular PSU
      • Case:
      • Fractal Design Define S
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 64-Bit
      • Monitor(s):
      • NEC 24WMGX3 24" TFT
      • Internet:
      • 70GB Virgin Media Broadband
    UPDATE:The following drivers have had updates, they have been ammended in the original thread.

    Note: The date next to the drivers is the date I've updated them, not the actual date of the drivers came out.

    DRIVERS

    RAID/AHCI Software - Intel® Matrix Storage Manager v 7.0.0.1020 for 2000/XP/2003/64bit 20/05/07

    INTEL Chipset Driver v 8.2.0.1014 for 2000/XP/2003/64bit 20/05/07

    JMicron SATA Driver V 1.17.18.07 for 2000/XP/2003/64bit 20/05/07

    Realtek 8110SC Gigabit Lan V6.193 Driver for Vista 32bit / Vista 64bit 20/05/07

    Realtek High Audio Definition R167 Driver for 2000/XP/2003/64bit 20/05/07

    Realtek High Audio Definition R167 Driver for Vista 32bit/Vista 64bit 20/05/07


    AMD 3700X MSI B450 Tomahawk Max Crucial 2x16GB 3600C16
    EVGA GTX 1070 SC 8GB @ 1784/4004MHz Corsair HX 750 PSU
    Samsung 830 256GB Creative ZxR Thermalright Silver Arrow
    NEC 24WMGX3 24" TFT Fractal Design Define S Canon MP250

Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. AB9 QuadGT BIOS Update dissappointment
    By EtheAv8r in forum abit.care@HEXUS
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 13-04-2007, 01:03 PM
  2. Abit AB9 QuadGT
    By propolis in forum abit.care@HEXUS
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 26-03-2007, 04:58 PM
  3. Abit AB9 QuadGT
    By daza in forum PC Hardware and Components
    Replies: 48
    Last Post: 19-02-2007, 02:10 PM
  4. Abit AB9 QuadGT - eh?
    By Richh in forum SCAN.care@HEXUS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-02-2007, 10:42 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •