• Operating System:
      • Windows 7
      • Monitor(s):
      • LG 36" LED TV
      • Internet:
      • Virgin 60mb cable

MacBook

Hi all,
    I'm contemplating getting myself a MacBook, and I need some advice. I have a few questions.
    1. My impression is that with windows laptops, they go wrong a lot, and that this isn't the case with Apple laptops. Correct?
    2. I'm a medical student, who is also into photography. I need to use word processing software, data analysis, browsing, and photoshop. Is the entry level MacBook suited (2ghz, 1gig RAM, 80gig HDD, 13in screen)?
    3. Refurb models on the website are nearly 20% off, and have the same warranty (apparently), anyone have any experience of apple refurb kit?
    4. I am a PC user and builder/modder, and have never used a Mac OS for a significant period - will I get it quick?
    5. I have the impression that, for the money, you could get a higher spec laptop (excl. OS package) am I right?
    6. If so, what makes the MacBook worth it?

Thanks for taking the time to read this, and please let me know any of your thoughts on the matter,
    Million

Splash

Re: MacBook

Quote Originally Posted by Million View Post
    Hi all,
    I'm contemplating getting myself a MacBook, and I need some advice. I have a few questions.
    1. My impression is that with windows laptops, they go wrong a lot, and that this isn't the case with Apple laptops. Correct?
    Define "they go wrong a lot". Mac OS is designed to run on very specific hardware, and as such is generally accepted to be pretty stable, but if you're the type to tinker I'd say it's every bit as susceptible to user error as any other OS.

2. I'm a medical student, who is also into photography. I need to use word processing software, data analysis, browsing, and photoshop. Is the entry level MacBook suited (2ghz, 1gig RAM, 80gig HDD, 13in screen)?