Hey everyone, just wanted to see if I was headed in the right direction. So please let me know what you think.

I would like to get back into IT. I have been working in the family business for the 5 years and now either have to take over or move on. We run a small mortgage brokerage and on the side, i look after the family property portfolio. I find the work quite dull and boring, because of this I feel I dont give it my best. Moneys great but to me there is little or no job satisfaction. There are some other personal reasons I wouldnt want to take over too...

My previously employment has always been in IT. From the age of 16-20 I worked part time in a local computer store, learning to build and repair PC's, as well customer support, over the counter sales etc etc. From May 98 to October 98, i worked in my local school, assisting a rather grand network overhaul. Got loads of practical experince working in a network environment as well as exposure to Cisco technology.

After I finished my degree, (Chemistry), for some reason I didnt go down the graduate recruitment path. To be honest I have no idea why..... I bumped into someone I knew, who had recently opened a new computer shop in London, and they needed someone to manage it. I did that for about a year.

Then an opening came up in their network support department which I applied for and got the position. We used to provide SLA's for about 25-30 firms, the majority of them based in or around London. Was a mixture of 1st, 2nd and 3rd line support. As well as some overhauls, upgrades, design and implementation. For either our current customers or new ones. I really enjoyed it. I'm a techy at heart and love to solve problems. Coupled with the fact that I have really good communication skills I excelled at my job.