Thread: Starting a business technicalities

Hmmm bed
    Thanks

Starting a business technicalities

Hi all.

I've done a search for this but can't seem to find anything, apologies if I have missed anything obvious.

A friend and I are starting a business, I wont go into too much detail as it's fairly irrelevant to my question, basically its to do with hosted internet software solutions.

Now, it's just the technicalities I need a bit of advice on.

I know that as we dont earn over the set amount, we don't need to legally register for VAT, but I think it would be an advantage to us as we would attract more business customers and also get VAT returned from the servers we rent. What are peoples opinions on this?

I am also a little unsure as to my tax situation. I am currently a student on a placement year, next year I will be a full time student again, what do I need to tell teh tax man, and does this mean that I iwll need to pay NI next year as a student? Is NI a percentage of what you earn or a set amount once you reach a threshold?

Thanks for the help

Thanks
    • schmunk's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Abit NF7-S v2.0
      • CPU:
      • AMD Athlon-M 2500+
      • Memory:
      • 1GB of Corsair BH-5 and 512MB of something else
      • Storage:
      • 160GB Seagate Barracuda
      • Graphics card(s):
      • ATI Radeon X800Pro, flashed to XT
      • PSU:
      • Hiper Type-M ~400W
      • Case:
      • Antec cheapy
      • Monitor(s):
      • AG Neovo F19 LCD
      • Internet:
      • Virgin Media 4MB/s
    You pay NI if you are over 16 and under retirement age.

If you have a source of self-employment income you will need to register for Class 2 NIC (currently £2.10 pw) within 3 months of the end of the month of beginning your self-employment. You need to contact the National Insurance Contributions Office.

You will also be liable to Class 4 NIC at 8% of earnings from £4,895 (min) - £32,760 and 1% thereafter.