Thread: Database for car repair log?

Registered+
    Thanks

Database for car repair log?

Hey folks!

I've been wanting to do this for a while but never know how to approach it.

For the last couple of years I've kept a log of all car repairs and maintenance but this has been in notepad with a simple date and description.

I'm new to databases and wondered if that could be used for such a purpose? I have MS Excel & Access and also the Openoffice equivalents, but on both couldn't find any kind of wizard or template to help put a database together for this purpose.

Any ideas or sites on how I could guide myself through setting something like this up?

It feels odd because I've built a couple of websites using Dreamweaver and I can't even do something pretty basic like this!!

One Great Ordeal!
    Thanks

Re: Database for car repair log?

Well you need to identify first what data you want to store about each car.

For example

Each line is an attribute / column, it might be a good idea to draw what i've said below as a table to get an idea about what I'm on about....

CAR_TABLE: = Full listing of every detail about a car
    Car reg = PK
    Vin plate
    mot expiry date
    Make
    Model
    Spec
    Engine Size

CAR_LINK_MAINTENANCE_TABLE = Links a car with maintenance you have performed on it
    LINK_ID = PK + Auto number
    Car reg*
    Maintenance ID*

MAINTENANCE_TABLE = Describes the maintenance you have performed on a car
    Maintenance ID = PK + Auto number
    Comment field - description of Maintenance work carried out
    Date

PK = Primary key which is unique entry that cannot be repeated more then once within the table