Page 21 of 31 FirstFirst ... 1118192021222324 ... LastLast
Results 321 to 336 of 485

Thread: Quad Core Thread: Overclocking, Cooling, Motherboards, Troubleshooting & General Info

  1. #321
    Registered+
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked
    0 times in 0 posts

    Re: Quad Core Thread: Overclocking, Cooling, Motherboards, Troubleshooting & General

    Anyway, does the ram matter when overclocking? and what do u recomend im getting, im buying a q6600 g0 and im going with a p5k deluxe which seems to be a good motherboard but im stuck with ram, i was thinking of OCZ

  2. #322
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    685
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked
    37 times in 32 posts

    Re: Quad Core Thread: Overclocking, Cooling, Motherboards, Troubleshooting & General

    Quote Originally Posted by Spector View Post
    Anyway, does the ram matter when overclocking? and what do u recomend im getting, im buying a q6600 g0 and im going with a p5k deluxe which seems to be a good motherboard but im stuck with ram, i was thinking of OCZ
    you are looking for two things, low latency and RAM that will do at least PC6400. my RAM has reasonable latency at 4-4-4-12, but you can do better.

    Hope that helps. If you've spotted something that takes your fancy, then post a link and we can comment.

    Cheers,
    Stephen

  3. #323
    Registered+
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked
    0 times in 0 posts

    Re: Quad Core Thread: Overclocking, Cooling, Motherboards, Troubleshooting & General

    well im ordering to aria so depending on stock and the latency thing i found http://www.aria.co.uk/Products/Compo...roductId=27053 , http://www.aria.co.uk/Products/Compo...roductId=26722 (ocz doesnt seem to excell latency wise) and two reapers, http://www.aria.co.uk/SuperSpecials/...roductId=26597 http://www.aria.co.uk/Products/Compo...roductId=27011 (altho ive just realised the last one is for chipset 680i only)

  4. #324
    Flat cap, Whippets, Cave. Clunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    11,056
    Thanks
    360
    Thanked
    725 times in 459 posts

    Re: Quad Core Thread: Overclocking, Cooling, Motherboards, Troubleshooting & General

    None of those, go for Crucial Ballistix, the RMA service is excellent. I returned a set last tuesday and on thursday a brand new set arrived back to me.

    All of the above will need shipping out of the UK for RMA if you go direct to the manufacturer for warranty, which you should because Aria are horrendous.
    Quote Originally Posted by Blitzen View Post
    stupid betond belief.
    You owe it to yourself to click here really.

  5. #325
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    685
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked
    37 times in 32 posts

    Re: Quad Core Thread: Overclocking, Cooling, Motherboards, Troubleshooting & General

    Well, anything much beyond PC6400 is probably overkill unless you are seriously planning on seriously increasing your FSB speed. My machine is running at 3.42GHz and I'm still running within my RAM's PC6400 specs.

    The 2GB DIMMs tend to have lower latencies, so do you really need 4GB of RAM?

    Cheers,
    Stephen

  6. #326
    Registered+
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked
    0 times in 0 posts

    Re: Quad Core Thread: Overclocking, Cooling, Motherboards, Troubleshooting & General

    are they that bad?:/ i wanted to go with scan but they are out of stock for most of what i want, i dont really need 4gb im just trying to plan ahead since i wont be buying anything for 9 months lol, i guess ill go with corsair, it was just another option since ocz seems to have 5-5-5-15 on most of their memory on aria
    Last edited by Spector; 30-08-2007 at 06:48 PM.

  7. #327
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    93
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked
    1 time in 1 post

    Re: Quad Core Thread: Overclocking, Cooling, Motherboards, Troubleshooting & General

    Well the sweety spot for mine is 3.4ghz 1.375v in bios primed it for 6hrs with round error checking enabled....did try it first @ 3.5ghz 1.45ghz in bios.....failed after 2 and a half hours guess it needs a bit more vcore....but @ 3.4ghz with the board vdroop it is within intel's max and i am happy with my o/c atm.... low vore, great temps and air cooled what more can you ask for and all on my old Gigabyte GA-965P-DS4 (rev. 1.0)...so no need to buy a new board which i thought i would have been buying.
    Q6600 (G0)@3.51ghz @ 1.45V (L)
    TR Ultra 120A (L) S.S F121
    GIGABYTE Ds4 P965
    XFX 7900GT Air cooled
    Thermaltake Xaser V
    FSP 600W 1+ only system

  8. #328
    Get in the van. Fraz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    2,919
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked
    397 times in 231 posts
    • Fraz's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte X58A-UD5
      • CPU:
      • Watercooled i7-980X @ 4.2 GHz
      • Memory:
      • 24GB Crucial DDR3-1333
      • Storage:
      • 240 GB Vertex2E + 2 TB of Disk
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Water-cooled Sapphire 7970 @ 1175/1625
      • PSU:
      • Enermax Modu87+
      • Case:
      • Corsair 700D
      • Operating System:
      • Linux Mint 12 / Windows 7
      • Monitor(s):
      • Dell 30" 3008WFP and two Dell 24" 2412M
      • Internet:
      • Virgin Media 60 Mbps

    Re: Quad Core Thread: Overclocking, Cooling, Motherboards, Troubleshooting & General

    Hi, I'm a complete overclocking n00b, especially with respect to the Core 2 CPUs and mobos. So, a few questions you might be able to help with

    Firstly, my system is:

    Mobo: IP35 Pro
    CPU: Q6600 G0
    CPU cooler: Thermaltake Big Typhoon 120VX
    RAM: OCZ PC8500 1066MHz 5-5-5-15 (@2.3 Volts)
    GFX: Inno3d 8800 GTS 640MB (factory OC'd)

    First off, I'm not looking for an extreme overclock... just around the 3GHz mark, so my CPU cooler isn't too noisy as I'm gonna be running grid jobs 24/7 on all 4 cores. I've currently got all this running at 2.7 GHz by just bumping the FSB up from 266 to 300 (x9 multiplier), and the RAM is on the 1:1.66 ratio, so the ram is running at about ~1000 MHz.

    Now when I bump up the FSB to 320MHz so the CPU will be at 2.88 GHz and the RAM at it's rated frequency of ~1066MHz, the computer won't boot. However, if I put the RAM back to it's 1:1 ratio, it'll boot fine. Why is this?

    By the way, temps are all ok so far... Max core temp (using latest CoreTemp with correct Tjunction) with all cores fully loaded is about 50C, with the fan only at 1000 RPM.

  9. #329
    Anthropomorphic Personification shaithis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    The Last Aerie
    Posts
    10,849
    Thanks
    645
    Thanked
    872 times in 736 posts
    • shaithis's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P8Z77 WS
      • CPU:
      • i7 3770k @ 4.5GHz
      • Memory:
      • 32GB HyperX 1866
      • Storage:
      • Lots!
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Sapphire Fury X
      • PSU:
      • Corsair HX850
      • Case:
      • Corsair 600T (White)
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 x64
      • Monitor(s):
      • 2 x Dell 3007
      • Internet:
      • Zen 80Mb Fibre

    Re: Quad Core Thread: Overclocking, Cooling, Motherboards, Troubleshooting & General

    I've never tried to run at non 1:1 speeds since the days of Durons

    You might want to try moving your MCH voltage up a few notches but thats a pure guess, although it wouldn't hurt anything to try
    Main PC: Asus Rampage IV Extreme / 3960X@4.5GHz / Antec H1200 Pro / 32GB DDR3-1866 Quad Channel / Sapphire Fury X / Areca 1680 / 850W EVGA SuperNOVA Gold 2 / Corsair 600T / 2x Dell 3007 / 4 x 250GB SSD + 2 x 80GB SSD / 4 x 1TB HDD (RAID 10) / Windows 10 Pro, Yosemite & Ubuntu
    HTPC: AsRock Z77 Pro 4 / 3770K@4.2GHz / 24GB / GTX 1080 / SST-LC20 / Antec TP-550 / Hisense 65k5510 4K TV / HTC Vive / 2 x 240GB SSD + 12TB HDD Space / Race Seat / Logitech G29 / Win 10 Pro
    HTPC2: Asus AM1I-A / 5150 / 4GB / Corsair Force 3 240GB / Silverstone SST-ML05B + ST30SF / Samsung UE60H6200 TV / Windows 10 Pro
    Spare/Loaner: Gigabyte EX58-UD5 / i950 / 12GB / HD7870 / Corsair 300R / Silverpower 700W modular
    NAS 1: HP N40L / 12GB ECC RAM / 2 x 3TB Arrays || NAS 2: Dell PowerEdge T110 II / 24GB ECC RAM / 2 x 3TB Hybrid arrays || Network:Buffalo WZR-1166DHP w/DD-WRT + HP ProCurve 1800-24G
    Laptop: Lenovo Flex 2 / 12GB RAM / 240GB Corsair Force 3 Printer: HP CP1515n || Phone: HTC One U11 || Other: Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 Pro 10.1 CM12.1 / Playstation 4 + G29 + 2TB Hybrid drive

  10. #330
    Get in the van. Fraz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    2,919
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked
    397 times in 231 posts
    • Fraz's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte X58A-UD5
      • CPU:
      • Watercooled i7-980X @ 4.2 GHz
      • Memory:
      • 24GB Crucial DDR3-1333
      • Storage:
      • 240 GB Vertex2E + 2 TB of Disk
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Water-cooled Sapphire 7970 @ 1175/1625
      • PSU:
      • Enermax Modu87+
      • Case:
      • Corsair 700D
      • Operating System:
      • Linux Mint 12 / Windows 7
      • Monitor(s):
      • Dell 30" 3008WFP and two Dell 24" 2412M
      • Internet:
      • Virgin Media 60 Mbps

    Re: Quad Core Thread: Overclocking, Cooling, Motherboards, Troubleshooting & General

    Yes... I remember getting screwed over by my last AMD chip not liking non 1:1 ratios. Took me a long time to work out why it was unstable...doh!

    Surely that's not the case with Core2s right?!

    Will give the MCH voltage a try and let you know

  11. #331
    Flat cap, Whippets, Cave. Clunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    11,056
    Thanks
    360
    Thanked
    725 times in 459 posts

    Re: Quad Core Thread: Overclocking, Cooling, Motherboards, Troubleshooting & General

    Quote Originally Posted by Fraz View Post
    Hi, I'm a complete overclocking n00b, especially with respect to the Core 2 CPUs and mobos. So, a few questions you might be able to help with

    Firstly, my system is:

    Mobo: IP35 Pro
    CPU: Q6600 G0
    CPU cooler: Thermaltake Big Typhoon 120VX
    RAM: OCZ PC8500 1066MHz 5-5-5-15 (@2.3 Volts)
    GFX: Inno3d 8800 GTS 640MB (factory OC'd)

    First off, I'm not looking for an extreme overclock... just around the 3GHz mark, so my CPU cooler isn't too noisy as I'm gonna be running grid jobs 24/7 on all 4 cores. I've currently got all this running at 2.7 GHz by just bumping the FSB up from 266 to 300 (x9 multiplier), and the RAM is on the 1:1.66 ratio, so the ram is running at about ~1000 MHz.

    Now when I bump up the FSB to 320MHz so the CPU will be at 2.88 GHz and the RAM at it's rated frequency of ~1066MHz, the computer won't boot. However, if I put the RAM back to it's 1:1 ratio, it'll boot fine. Why is this?

    By the way, temps are all ok so far... Max core temp (using latest CoreTemp with correct Tjunction) with all cores fully loaded is about 50C, with the fan only at 1000 RPM.
    At a guess, I would say that its just an unstable divider. That is assuming that your RAM is properly set to the correct voltage and timings.

    Will it run at 1066Mhz with the CPU at 266?

    Read the RAM part of the overclocking guide, theres info about this
    Quote Originally Posted by Blitzen View Post
    stupid betond belief.
    You owe it to yourself to click here really.

  12. #332
    Get in the van. Fraz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    2,919
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked
    397 times in 231 posts
    • Fraz's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte X58A-UD5
      • CPU:
      • Watercooled i7-980X @ 4.2 GHz
      • Memory:
      • 24GB Crucial DDR3-1333
      • Storage:
      • 240 GB Vertex2E + 2 TB of Disk
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Water-cooled Sapphire 7970 @ 1175/1625
      • PSU:
      • Enermax Modu87+
      • Case:
      • Corsair 700D
      • Operating System:
      • Linux Mint 12 / Windows 7
      • Monitor(s):
      • Dell 30" 3008WFP and two Dell 24" 2412M
      • Internet:
      • Virgin Media 60 Mbps

    Re: Quad Core Thread: Overclocking, Cooling, Motherboards, Troubleshooting & General

    Quote Originally Posted by Clunk View Post
    At a guess, I would say that its just an unstable divider. That is assuming that your RAM is properly set to the correct voltage and timings.

    Will it run at 1066Mhz with the CPU at 266?

    Read the RAM part of the overclocking guide, theres info about this
    Yup - works fine with the CPU at 266*9 and the RAM at 1066MHz. That's basically my "Not Overclocked" setup, and it works fine.

    Will try turning up the MCH voltage when I get home, and see if that works.

  13. #333
    RIP Evy mroz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    A wonderful avatar filled place
    Posts
    588
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked
    16 times in 15 posts
    • mroz's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte P35-DS4 rev 1.1
      • CPU:
      • Q6600 G0 @ 2.4GHz (was @ 3.2GHz), TRU120X (lapped) + Sythe S-Flex 1600rpm
      • Memory:
      • Corsair 6GiB DDR2 Twin2X 6400 C4 (was 2GiB)
      • Storage:
      • Samsung Spinpoint 500GB x 2
      • Graphics card(s):
      • GTX 460 (was Gigabyte 7600GS passive)
      • PSU:
      • Corsair HX 520
      • Case:
      • Antec 900 aka The Vacuum Cleaner
      • Monitor(s):
      • They're everywhere
      • Internet:
      • Zen upto 75Mb/s (typically 26Mb/s when no one else is using the internet)

    Re: Quad Core Thread: Overclocking, Cooling, Motherboards, Troubleshooting & General

    Quote Originally Posted by F3rAL View Post
    Good luck, don't go to far
    Cheers. Not had much time in the last couple of days, so half the parts are still on the living room floor. Hopefully will get it sorted now the weekend's here.

  14. #334
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    West Wales
    Posts
    484
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked
    18 times in 16 posts
    • Phil_P's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte P35-DS4
      • CPU:
      • Q6600 G0
      • Memory:
      • 4x1GB Crucial
      • Storage:
      • 2 x WD 1TB in RAID1
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Gigabyte 7600GS
      • PSU:
      • Etasis 750W
      • Operating System:
      • RHEL5/RHEL6
      • Monitor(s):
      • Samsung 226BW 22" panel
      • Internet:
      • F2S 8mbit

    Re: Quad Core Thread: Overclocking, Cooling, Motherboards, Troubleshooting & General

    Quote Originally Posted by Clunk View Post
    At a guess, I would say that its just an unstable divider. That is assuming that your RAM is properly set to the correct voltage and timings.
    Whilst we're on the topic of dividers, for info...

    Gigabyte P35-DS4 with Crucial Ballistic DDR2-800, memtest86 bandwidth figures:

    400fsb, 2:1 (800fsb), 4-4-4-12: 4539MB/s
    400fsb, 2.5:1 or 5:4 divider (1000fsb), 5-5-5-15: 5028MB/s

    Gigabyte calls the divider 2.5:1, which is the same as 5:4, and it's 100% stable on this board for me. Running in sync is obviously also stable too, just slightly less bandwidth.

    This Gigabyte P35-DS4 is looking really good at £30 less than the Asus P5K Deluxe.

  15. Received thanks from:

    Clunk (01-09-2007)

  16. #335
    Get in the van. Fraz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    2,919
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked
    397 times in 231 posts
    • Fraz's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte X58A-UD5
      • CPU:
      • Watercooled i7-980X @ 4.2 GHz
      • Memory:
      • 24GB Crucial DDR3-1333
      • Storage:
      • 240 GB Vertex2E + 2 TB of Disk
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Water-cooled Sapphire 7970 @ 1175/1625
      • PSU:
      • Enermax Modu87+
      • Case:
      • Corsair 700D
      • Operating System:
      • Linux Mint 12 / Windows 7
      • Monitor(s):
      • Dell 30" 3008WFP and two Dell 24" 2412M
      • Internet:
      • Virgin Media 60 Mbps

    Re: Quad Core Thread: Overclocking, Cooling, Motherboards, Troubleshooting & General

    Quote Originally Posted by shaithis View Post
    You might want to try moving your MCH voltage up a few notches but thats a pure guess, although it wouldn't hurt anything to try
    Yup - that worked like a charm. Thanks for the help

    I would thank you properly if only I could find the button...
    Last edited by Fraz; 01-09-2007 at 02:48 PM.

  17. #336
    RIP Evy mroz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    A wonderful avatar filled place
    Posts
    588
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked
    16 times in 15 posts
    • mroz's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte P35-DS4 rev 1.1
      • CPU:
      • Q6600 G0 @ 2.4GHz (was @ 3.2GHz), TRU120X (lapped) + Sythe S-Flex 1600rpm
      • Memory:
      • Corsair 6GiB DDR2 Twin2X 6400 C4 (was 2GiB)
      • Storage:
      • Samsung Spinpoint 500GB x 2
      • Graphics card(s):
      • GTX 460 (was Gigabyte 7600GS passive)
      • PSU:
      • Corsair HX 520
      • Case:
      • Antec 900 aka The Vacuum Cleaner
      • Monitor(s):
      • They're everywhere
      • Internet:
      • Zen upto 75Mb/s (typically 26Mb/s when no one else is using the internet)

    Re: Quad Core Thread: Overclocking, Cooling, Motherboards, Troubleshooting & General

    Quote Originally Posted by Fraz View Post
    I would thank you properly if only I could find the button...
    OT: You're not old enough. Maybe 25 posts is the critical number iirc - it's not very high in any case.

Page 21 of 31 FirstFirst ... 1118192021222324 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. C2D Overclocking Guide for Beginners
    By Clunk in forum PC Hardware and Components
    Replies: 908
    Last Post: 17-06-2008, 07:00 PM
  2. overclocking p5k deuxe and quad core
    By prits_88 in forum PC Hardware and Components
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 11-07-2007, 03:26 PM
  3. Intel Core 2 Duo Quad Extreme QX6700 What Motherboard Supported???
    By malice19 in forum PC Hardware and Components
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-07-2007, 11:24 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •