Page 11 of 31 FirstFirst ... 89101112131421 ... LastLast
Results 161 to 176 of 485

Thread: Quad Core Thread: Overclocking, Cooling, Motherboards, Troubleshooting & General Info

  1. #161
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    London
    Posts
    133
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked
    1 time in 1 post
    • SadikP's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Rampage II Extreme
      • CPU:
      • i7 920@4.2
      • Memory:
      • 6GB Corsair Dominator DDR3
      • Storage:
      • 6x SATA various
      • Graphics card(s):
      • BFG GTX295
      • PSU:
      • Corsair HX1000W
      • Case:
      • Lian Li G70 (Custom Watercooled)
      • Operating System:
      • Vista64 + Xp Pro + Win7 Beta
      • Monitor(s):
      • Samy 26 + Asus 22"
      • Internet:
      • 20mbps
    Quote Originally Posted by s-p View Post
    Very nice temperatures! What cooling have you got in the case if you don't mind me asking?
    CPU cooling: Thermalright 120 Ultra eXtreme (lapped) with S-Flex 120, 1600RPM.

    Case cooling: Two Silverstone 120 fans that came with the case & two Noctua 1200s, one for the HDDs and one on the top drawing air out.

  2. #162
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    685
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked
    37 times in 32 posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SadikP View Post
    CoreTemp temperatures
    Idle:
    Core 0: 45c
    Core 1: 45c
    Core 2: 38c
    Core 3: 39c

    Load; (using Prime95)
    Core 0: 55c
    Core 1: 56c
    Core 2: 49c
    Core 3: 50c
    What are you using to measure those temps? They look extremely good for an air-cooled system.

    Cheers,
    Stephen

  3. #163
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    London
    Posts
    133
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked
    1 time in 1 post
    • SadikP's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Rampage II Extreme
      • CPU:
      • i7 920@4.2
      • Memory:
      • 6GB Corsair Dominator DDR3
      • Storage:
      • 6x SATA various
      • Graphics card(s):
      • BFG GTX295
      • PSU:
      • Corsair HX1000W
      • Case:
      • Lian Li G70 (Custom Watercooled)
      • Operating System:
      • Vista64 + Xp Pro + Win7 Beta
      • Monitor(s):
      • Samy 26 + Asus 22"
      • Internet:
      • 20mbps
    Quote Originally Posted by fat jez View Post
    What are you using to measure those temps? They look extremely good for an air-cooled system.

    Cheers,
    Stephen
    CoreTemp, I'm kinda surprised myself, I guess lapping both HSF & CPU helped alot.

    @ badass, your temps are far too high even for the stock cooler, check to see if the cooler is installed properly, those push clips can be difficult sometimes.

  4. #164
    Senior Citizen.
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    isle of wight
    Posts
    678
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked
    21 times in 14 posts
    • daza's system
      • Motherboard:
      • DFI P35 (the green one)
      • CPU:
      • X3210 @ 3.6ghz 1.38v
      • Memory:
      • OCZ Sli PC8500 @ 1050 mhz
      • Storage:
      • 6x 160gb hitachi Deskstars.
      • Graphics card(s):
      • 8800GTS (640mb) @ 630/2000
      • PSU:
      • 750w Corsair PSU
      • Case:
      • Lian LI V2000
      • Monitor(s):
      • 2x 19" daewoo @ 1440x900
      • Internet:
      • 8meg BT.
    Quote Originally Posted by Clunk View Post
    If it is crashing, something is wrong mate. Personally, I wouldn't be happy with that as a pass.
    Its not prime95 crashing as such its windows running out of memory and closing the program, seems to happen when theres no page file enabled, like me.


    Just started up the torture test now with v-core at 1.45, mem at 2.26 and north bridge at 1.44v so fingers crossed it should pass this time and not be interrupted by stupid xp,

    And if she dont pass this time Ill go back to 3.2ghz which I had stable for 12hrs.

  5. #165
    Flat cap, Whippets, Cave. Clunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    11,056
    Thanks
    360
    Thanked
    725 times in 459 posts
    Quote Originally Posted by daza View Post
    Its not prime95 crashing as such its windows running out of memory and closing the program, seems to happen when theres no page file enabled, like me.


    Just started up the torture test now with v-core at 1.45, mem at 2.26 and north bridge at 1.44v so fingers crossed it should pass this time and not be interrupted by stupid xp,

    And if she dont pass this time Ill go back to 3.2ghz which I had stable for 12hrs.
    So, its not prime95 crashing, its XP, but it only does it when prim95 is running

    Denial, its a terrible thing
    Quote Originally Posted by Blitzen View Post
    stupid betond belief.
    You owe it to yourself to click here really.

  6. #166
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    4,599
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked
    314 times in 252 posts
    • badass's system
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS P8Z77-m pro
      • CPU:
      • Core i5 3570K
      • Memory:
      • 32GB
      • Storage:
      • 1TB Samsung 850 EVO, 2TB WD Green
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Radeon RX 580
      • PSU:
      • Corsair HX520W
      • Case:
      • Silverstone SG02-F
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 X64
      • Monitor(s):
      • Del U2311, LG226WTQ
      • Internet:
      • 80/20 FTTC
    Quote Originally Posted by SadikP View Post
    those push clips can be difficult sometimes.
    Bit of an understatement. They are a complete **** and I was worried about breaking the motherboard the amount of force I was using!
    What Air coolers are available that use screws and are near the Tuniq Tower 120 in terms of cooling performance?
    Does anyone know if the Tuniq Tower 120 uses screws?
    "In a perfect world... spammers would get caught, go to jail, and share a cell with many men who have enlarged their penises, taken Viagra and are looking for a new relationship."

  7. #167
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    685
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked
    37 times in 32 posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Clunk View Post
    Denial, its a terrible thing
    rofl

    Aye. Daza, try turning on virtual memory and then stress testing it. You have too many variables in your equation.

    Cheers,
    Stephen

  8. #168
    Senior Citizen.
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    isle of wight
    Posts
    678
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked
    21 times in 14 posts
    • daza's system
      • Motherboard:
      • DFI P35 (the green one)
      • CPU:
      • X3210 @ 3.6ghz 1.38v
      • Memory:
      • OCZ Sli PC8500 @ 1050 mhz
      • Storage:
      • 6x 160gb hitachi Deskstars.
      • Graphics card(s):
      • 8800GTS (640mb) @ 630/2000
      • PSU:
      • 750w Corsair PSU
      • Case:
      • Lian LI V2000
      • Monitor(s):
      • 2x 19" daewoo @ 1440x900
      • Internet:
      • 8meg BT.
    Well she got to 9hrs stable last night without a problem before xp shut it down I have the results to prove it so pffft.

    Will find out in 12hours if cpu is stable, and the memory should be as its only running 74mhz over stock and Im putting an extra .9v through it.

    If shes stable tomorrow then Ill run another prime95 but focusing on the memory more, and she had the vm problem when the divider was stock and the memory was running at 266mhz or something.

    Denial don't have that problem just optimistic thoughts. lol.

  9. #169
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    685
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked
    37 times in 32 posts
    Quote Originally Posted by daza View Post
    Will find out in 12hours if cpu is stable, and the memory should be as its only running 74mhz over stock and Im putting an extra .9v through it.
    Exactly how much voltage are you putting through that memory?

    Daza, run your memory without a divider and with swap allocated. Once your CPU benches stable, then start playing with the other stuff.

    You are changing 3 different things, any one of which could cause your machine to lock up.

    Cheers,
    Stephen

  10. #170
    Senior Citizen.
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    isle of wight
    Posts
    678
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked
    21 times in 14 posts
    • daza's system
      • Motherboard:
      • DFI P35 (the green one)
      • CPU:
      • X3210 @ 3.6ghz 1.38v
      • Memory:
      • OCZ Sli PC8500 @ 1050 mhz
      • Storage:
      • 6x 160gb hitachi Deskstars.
      • Graphics card(s):
      • 8800GTS (640mb) @ 630/2000
      • PSU:
      • 750w Corsair PSU
      • Case:
      • Lian LI V2000
      • Monitor(s):
      • 2x 19" daewoo @ 1440x900
      • Internet:
      • 8meg BT.
    Quote Originally Posted by fat jez View Post
    Exactly how much voltage are you putting through that memory?
    Only 2.2v got a ocz cooler ontop aswell.

  11. #171
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    685
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked
    37 times in 32 posts
    Quote Originally Posted by daza View Post
    Only 2.2v got a ocz cooler ontop aswell.
    So it runs at 1.3v normally? Seems pretty low, mine runs at 2.1v.

    Cheers,
    Stephen

  12. #172
    Senior Citizen.
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    isle of wight
    Posts
    678
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked
    21 times in 14 posts
    • daza's system
      • Motherboard:
      • DFI P35 (the green one)
      • CPU:
      • X3210 @ 3.6ghz 1.38v
      • Memory:
      • OCZ Sli PC8500 @ 1050 mhz
      • Storage:
      • 6x 160gb hitachi Deskstars.
      • Graphics card(s):
      • 8800GTS (640mb) @ 630/2000
      • PSU:
      • 750w Corsair PSU
      • Case:
      • Lian LI V2000
      • Monitor(s):
      • 2x 19" daewoo @ 1440x900
      • Internet:
      • 8meg BT.
    runs at 2.1v stock just my very bad maths.

  13. #173
    Flat cap, Whippets, Cave. Clunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    11,056
    Thanks
    360
    Thanked
    725 times in 459 posts
    Just kidding mate

    The only time that prime ever hangs on me, is when I'm using a lower multi, usually an 8x, dunno why either.

    I managed to kill 2 x ballistic tracers last night at the same time, and they werent even overclocked/overvolted..well, 1080Mhz 2.2v 4-4-4-12.
    Quote Originally Posted by Blitzen View Post
    stupid betond belief.
    You owe it to yourself to click here really.

  14. #174
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    London
    Posts
    133
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked
    1 time in 1 post
    • SadikP's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Rampage II Extreme
      • CPU:
      • i7 920@4.2
      • Memory:
      • 6GB Corsair Dominator DDR3
      • Storage:
      • 6x SATA various
      • Graphics card(s):
      • BFG GTX295
      • PSU:
      • Corsair HX1000W
      • Case:
      • Lian Li G70 (Custom Watercooled)
      • Operating System:
      • Vista64 + Xp Pro + Win7 Beta
      • Monitor(s):
      • Samy 26 + Asus 22"
      • Internet:
      • 20mbps
    Quote Originally Posted by badass View Post
    Bit of an understatement. They are a complete **** and I was worried about breaking the motherboard the amount of force I was using!
    What Air coolers are available that use screws and are near the Tuniq Tower 120 in terms of cooling performance?
    Does anyone know if the Tuniq Tower 120 uses screws?
    The Tuniq Tower 120 uses screws with an X back plate.

    The Thermalright 120 ultra extreme is very good, but you have to buy a fan, adds to the already high cost.

  15. #175
    Senior Citizen.
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    isle of wight
    Posts
    678
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked
    21 times in 14 posts
    • daza's system
      • Motherboard:
      • DFI P35 (the green one)
      • CPU:
      • X3210 @ 3.6ghz 1.38v
      • Memory:
      • OCZ Sli PC8500 @ 1050 mhz
      • Storage:
      • 6x 160gb hitachi Deskstars.
      • Graphics card(s):
      • 8800GTS (640mb) @ 630/2000
      • PSU:
      • 750w Corsair PSU
      • Case:
      • Lian LI V2000
      • Monitor(s):
      • 2x 19" daewoo @ 1440x900
      • Internet:
      • 8meg BT.
    Oh another question, going for a 12hr stable run on the cpu as 74mhz (on the ram) is nothing these days, my +5v line has kinda crashed from 5.01v to 4.98v every now and then but stays on 5.01v most of the time.

    Is this likley to hurt performance at all or should I start looking for a new psu again.

    More edits, Can someone look at this ram (mine), and tell me what voltage it is supposed to be at stock as Im reading 2.3 here which I alot to zap them with Im sure I read 2.1 somewhere.Yup says 2.1v here
    Last edited by daza; 01-08-2007 at 10:52 PM.

  16. #176
    Flat cap, Whippets, Cave. Clunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    11,056
    Thanks
    360
    Thanked
    725 times in 459 posts
    I suppose it depends what chips they have on them. If d9, they will need more volts usually.

    Maybe different revisions had different chips, that would explain the conflicting reports?
    Quote Originally Posted by Blitzen View Post
    stupid betond belief.
    You owe it to yourself to click here really.

Page 11 of 31 FirstFirst ... 89101112131421 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. C2D Overclocking Guide for Beginners
    By Clunk in forum PC Hardware and Components
    Replies: 908
    Last Post: 17-06-2008, 07:00 PM
  2. overclocking p5k deuxe and quad core
    By prits_88 in forum PC Hardware and Components
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 11-07-2007, 03:26 PM
  3. Intel Core 2 Duo Quad Extreme QX6700 What Motherboard Supported???
    By malice19 in forum PC Hardware and Components
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-07-2007, 11:24 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •