Thread: Which processor

Thanks

Which processor

I'm considering updating my CPU and my motherboard but I'm a bit of a novice and I'm not sure what to go for. Currently I have an ASUS P4S533-E mobo with 512mb memory and a 2.54Ghz P4. I want to get the best out of my graphics card - a Sapphire Atlantis Radeon 9800 pro - and so was looking at either a 3.2 P4 (Northwood) or the Athalon 64 3200 (socket 754). I'm not rolling in money so these are about as expensive as I want to get but which is the best one and what would be the ideal mobo choice?

Oh, and changing the Graphic Card is the most I've ever done so is updating a CPU and mobo fairly straight forward or is it quite complex?

wibble
    Thanks
    Updating mobo - persaonally I always do a complete re-fromat and install, so a bit of work required. You can do it without doing this, but theres always going to be some residual drivers left that can hamper performance. Definitely reformat this if changing from Intel to AMD.

If you're going p4 I'd say check out an Asus P4P800, good budget board (get the deluxe if you want RAID etc.) as for processor, I'd say get a 2.8 or 3.0 and overclock it a bit, most 2.8's/3.0's will do about 3.5Ghz on air and 3.2's don't seem to do much better, so aren't really worth the extra imo.

As for A64, never tried them myself, so can't comment, but the 3000's seem to perform almost as well as the 3200's in most situations, so a bit of money can be saved there.

Another thing you haven't mentioned is RAM - what RAM are you using ? as this might need to be changed as well.

Thanks
    Ram...Ram...to be perfectly honest, I'm not sure. It's 512mb and I'm fairly sure its DDR but as for make or anything else I don't know. I was considering updating it as well but again, I don't know what to.

Thanks for the other advice on thge other stuff. Much appreciated.

wibble
    Thanks