• Case:
      • Midi Tower AT
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 98 SE
      • Monitor(s):
      • 22" TFT Widescreen

Unhappy Quest for silence...

Well,

I started with a Duron 1.2 and a Globalwin CBK-58 - and this was 25dba and fairly quiet.

Then I got an XP1700 thoroughbred-b which was okay with the cbk-58...

then I got a coolermaster x-dream hac-v81 - which was better at cooling and let me overclock the cpu to 2ghz (xp2400) @ 10% more voltage... anyway, it was a bit too noisey...

so i got a coolermaster aero 7 (not +) and this was great, quiet, and cooled okay... but then the fan died

so i thought, great, i'll be able to buy a Thermalright SK-7 and stick a 20dba 80mm fan on, and silence will finally be mine!

so i get the sk-7, but with the 20dba ys-tech it easily reaches 70 degrees C under load

so i've stuck the x-dream fan back on... and the cpu's cool enough under load, but the fans too noisey...

what should i do to get a quiet system? - using 20dba fans as the loudest?

it's really doing my nutt in!

i guess i could just stick my cpu down to it's normal speed and not overclock it anymore... :/

Happy Now?
    Thanks
    either:

buy an XP2400

or

buy a Alpha or Swiftech

or

buy a watercooling kit

All muchos wonger. Have you tried the zalman fan bracket +120mm panaflo LA1 on 7v approch?
    I dont like sig pics so i turn off sigs Which doesnt help when i dont know what ive written here! DOH!

slave of the hypnotoad
    Thanks
    josh, get a Zalman CNPS-7000ACu

it's available for under £40 inc vat and delivery here :- http://www.thecoolingshop.co.uk/tcs/...ry=3&curPage=4

Thanks
    Get one of those zalman heatsinks from overclockers.co.uk ... think its the very bottom one on the zalman page. Its very quiet, got it in my wee sisters PC. The coolin performance on it is amazing as well.
    Acer Travelmate 8104WMLi
    P-M 2.0 Ghz
    2Gb DDR533 Corsair RAM
    100Gb 7200rpm Seagtae HD
    128Mb ATi x700 Mobility

slave of the hypnotoad