Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Linux - Anyone educated in it?

Thanks

Linux - Anyone educated in it?

Linux, Has always been something of curiosity, I've always wondered what it’s like, how it works, how better it is then windows. Obviously it's quite a big deal; open-source operating systems are quite a novelty. The fact that Linux is quite a lot cheaper intrigues me, And seeing as I’ve got a nice new PC, I’ll probably go for partitioning the drive.

The reason Linux interests me so much is due to the controversy that surrounds it, it’s free and well most people use it totally instead of Windows. I substantially enjoy doing a spot of programming, I've been doing it for a few years now, and to have the ability to 'modify' the distribution you have is pretty cool. It'd be obviously different from the highly successful, yet frowned upon windows operating system.

But there's a problem that I’ve already encountered before even getting it, I know fack all about the operating system itself. Websites don't really explain much, I can't really find anything that tells me what I want to know or peoples opinion’s of it, so I thought I’d come n ask you guys for help or information. If you don't mind.

I apologize if these questions sound horrifically retarded: -

• Does Linux support all hardware - like graphics cards and motherboards?
    • Are the drivers any good for components in Linux?
    • I noticed on the ATI site there was no 'catalyst' drivers for Linux - are graphics pretty crap in the OS then?
    • Can I partition my drive now? Or would I have to format windows and start all over?
    • Can anyone recommend me some decent websites to view?

And finally

• If I was to get Linux - What distribution would you recommend? I was thinking of going Suse or Mandrake.

I appreciate any help or replies that are received.