Page 2 of 31 FirstFirst 123451222 ... LastLast
Results 17 to 32 of 485

Thread: Quad Core Thread: Overclocking, Cooling, Motherboards, Troubleshooting & General Info

  1. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    4,599
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked
    314 times in 252 posts
    • badass's system
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS P8Z77-m pro
      • CPU:
      • Core i5 3570K
      • Memory:
      • 32GB
      • Storage:
      • 1TB Samsung 850 EVO, 2TB WD Green
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Radeon RX 580
      • PSU:
      • Corsair HX520W
      • Case:
      • Silverstone SG02-F
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 X64
      • Monitor(s):
      • Del U2311, LG226WTQ
      • Internet:
      • 80/20 FTTC
    Well I bypassed the ASUS site and got the drivers from Intel instead. To install the audio driver, I need the MS HD audio driver. I have encountered this before, so went around looking for 888111 as I know that for some unbelievably stupis reason MS dont allow you to download it.

    I'm surprised that a simple thing like finding drivers is such a pain in the arse.

    Mind you, the P182 has been very good. Unbelievably quiet. I cant hear it over the background noise
    "In a perfect world... spammers would get caught, go to jail, and share a cell with many men who have enlarged their penises, taken Viagra and are looking for a new relationship."

  2. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    4,599
    Thanks
    146
    Thanked
    314 times in 252 posts
    • badass's system
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS P8Z77-m pro
      • CPU:
      • Core i5 3570K
      • Memory:
      • 32GB
      • Storage:
      • 1TB Samsung 850 EVO, 2TB WD Green
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Radeon RX 580
      • PSU:
      • Corsair HX520W
      • Case:
      • Silverstone SG02-F
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 X64
      • Monitor(s):
      • Del U2311, LG226WTQ
      • Internet:
      • 80/20 FTTC
    Top tip for any P5K variant owners.

    Make sure the Audio is enabled in the BIOS. It isn't be default!
    "In a perfect world... spammers would get caught, go to jail, and share a cell with many men who have enlarged their penises, taken Viagra and are looking for a new relationship."

  3. #19
    Flat cap, Whippets, Cave. Clunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    11,056
    Thanks
    360
    Thanked
    725 times in 459 posts
    So, anyone with anything quad core related, feel free to post
    Quote Originally Posted by Blitzen View Post
    stupid betond belief.
    You owe it to yourself to click here really.

  4. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    685
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked
    37 times in 32 posts
    I've been stress testing mine in Prime 95. it's not overclocked, but it is watercooled by a D-Tek Fuzion/Thermochill PA120.2 combo (pump is an Alphacool DDC).

    Temps are currently showing as:
    CPU 52°C
    Core 0 47°C
    Core 1 47°C
    Core 2 43°C
    Core 3 44°C

    How do these look? Coming from an AMD background, they seem a bit high to me, are they anything to worry about? Ambient temp in the room is around 24°C, no idea what the water temp is.

    Cheers,
    Stephen
    Last edited by fat jez; 28-07-2007 at 09:14 PM. Reason: updated temps

  5. #21
    Flat cap, Whippets, Cave. Clunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    11,056
    Thanks
    360
    Thanked
    725 times in 459 posts
    What are you reading those with?
    Quote Originally Posted by Blitzen View Post
    stupid betond belief.
    You owe it to yourself to click here really.

  6. #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    685
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked
    37 times in 32 posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Clunk View Post
    What are you reading those with?
    Speedfan. I run Vista Home Premium x64, so I am a bit limited with what will run (Intel's TAT won't for one).

    Cheers,
    Stephen

  7. #23
    Flat cap, Whippets, Cave. Clunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    11,056
    Thanks
    360
    Thanked
    725 times in 459 posts
    Add 15c on for those temps then.

    You can run coretemp, click on the troubleshooting guide link in my sig, I think its the last entry.
    Quote Originally Posted by Blitzen View Post
    stupid betond belief.
    You owe it to yourself to click here really.

  8. #24
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    685
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked
    37 times in 32 posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Clunk View Post
    Add 15c on for those temps then.

    You can run coretemp, click on the troubleshooting guide link in my sig, I think its the last entry.
    Thanks for the tip on running Core Temp.

    OK, now I get:
    Tjunction 100°C
    Core 0 61°C
    Core 1 60°C
    Core 2 57°C
    Core 3 58°C

    Those look pretty bad to me!

    Cheers,
    Stephen

  9. #25
    Flat cap, Whippets, Cave. Clunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    11,056
    Thanks
    360
    Thanked
    725 times in 459 posts
    Those are idle then?

    Looks like your cooler isnt on right.
    Quote Originally Posted by Blitzen View Post
    stupid betond belief.
    You owe it to yourself to click here really.

  10. #26
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    685
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked
    37 times in 32 posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Clunk View Post
    Those are idle then?

    Looks like your cooler isnt on right.
    No, full load, runnning 4 instances of Prime 95, one per core and using the Torture Test and In Place settings for maximum heat.

    Cheers,
    Stephen

  11. #27
    Flat cap, Whippets, Cave. Clunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    11,056
    Thanks
    360
    Thanked
    725 times in 459 posts
    Well, they arent great for stock.

    Is it the stock cooler?
    Quote Originally Posted by Blitzen View Post
    stupid betond belief.
    You owe it to yourself to click here really.

  12. #28
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    685
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked
    37 times in 32 posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Clunk View Post
    Well, they arent great for stock.

    Is it the stock cooler?
    Nope.

    Quote Originally Posted by fat jez View Post
    I've been stress testing mine in Prime 95. it's not overclocked, but it is watercooled by a D-Tek Fuzion/Thermochill PA120.2 combo (pump is an Alphacool DDC).
    Thermal paste is Arctic Ceramique.

    Cheers,
    Stephen

  13. #29
    Flat cap, Whippets, Cave. Clunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    11,056
    Thanks
    360
    Thanked
    725 times in 459 posts
    oops, sorry, missed that bit

    Ok, you do have serious cooling troubles there mate, but we can sort them.

    Are you cooling anything else as well as the CPU, such as the GPU or NB?

    What fans are you using on the rad?

    Do you have a backplate fitted for the CPU block?

    Have you done the "tweak your temps" thing?

    Have you done the paste as per the arctic silver instructions?...its slightly different on a quad.

    Are you sure you dont have an airlock in the rad?
    Quote Originally Posted by Blitzen View Post
    stupid betond belief.
    You owe it to yourself to click here really.

  14. #30
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    685
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked
    37 times in 32 posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Clunk View Post
    Are you cooling anything else as well as the CPU, such as the GPU or NB?
    No, just the CPU.


    Quote Originally Posted by Clunk View Post
    What fans are you using on the rad?
    Yate Loons 120mm fans running at 12v


    Quote Originally Posted by Clunk View Post
    Do you have a backplate fitted for the CPU block?
    The D-Tek mounts with 4 long bolts through the motherboard, which the block fits over and then you tighten it down with 4 nuts against 4 springs, one on each bolt.


    Quote Originally Posted by Clunk View Post
    Have you done the "tweak your temps" thing?
    Well, the nuts are as tight as I can get them.


    Quote Originally Posted by Clunk View Post
    Have you done the paste as per the arctic silver instructions?...its slightly different on a quad.
    One straight line across the middle of both cores.


    Quote Originally Posted by Clunk View Post
    Are you sure you dont have an airlock in the rad?
    It's possible, although the bleed screw at the top does produce water when it is undone.

    Cheers,
    Stephen

  15. #31
    Flat cap, Whippets, Cave. Clunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    11,056
    Thanks
    360
    Thanked
    725 times in 459 posts
    Quote Originally Posted by fat jez View Post
    No, just the CPU. ok




    Yate Loons 120mm fans running at 12v ok




    The D-Tek mounts with 4 long bolts through the motherboard, which the block fits over and then you tighten it down with 4 nuts against 4 springs, one on each bolt. Yes, I have one!. Unfortunately, if you dont use a backplate, the board bends, and you can lose contact slightly with the CPU. A Thermalright backplate will set you back about a fiver.




    Well, the nuts are as tight as I can get them. Try the tweaking method, it does work, but get a backplate as well, its well worth a fiver




    One straight line across the middle of both cores. ok




    It's possible, although the bleed screw at the top does produce water when it is undone. ok

    Cheers,
    Stephen
    .
    Quote Originally Posted by Blitzen View Post
    stupid betond belief.
    You owe it to yourself to click here really.

  16. #32
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    685
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked
    37 times in 32 posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Clunk View Post
    Unfortunately, if you dont use a backplate, the board bends, and you can lose contact slightly with the CPU. A Thermalright backplate will set you back about a fiver.
    Any ideas where I can get one?

    *edit* one of these? http://www.kustompcs.co.uk/acatalog/info_2644.html

    I'm tempted to try reseating the core and reapplying the paste.

    Cheers,
    Stephen

Page 2 of 31 FirstFirst 123451222 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. C2D Overclocking Guide for Beginners
    By Clunk in forum PC Hardware and Components
    Replies: 908
    Last Post: 17-06-2008, 07:00 PM
  2. overclocking p5k deuxe and quad core
    By prits_88 in forum PC Hardware and Components
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 11-07-2007, 03:26 PM
  3. Intel Core 2 Duo Quad Extreme QX6700 What Motherboard Supported???
    By malice19 in forum PC Hardware and Components
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-07-2007, 11:24 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •