Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Is this going to be a problem?

Registered+
    Thanks

Is this going to be a problem?

Finally got the parts to build my new system the other day. The actual build went well and it all works etc, however I hit a snag while building and want your opinions on it.

I used an asus p6t deluxe mb and in the end I went with a sapphire hd4870 gfx card. I also purchased a soundblaster extreme gamer sound card.

Anyway the size of the gfx card is big as expected, when housing it in the pci-e slot it completely covered up the pci slot directly below it leaving only the 2nd pci slot available for the soundcard....however putting the sc in this slot does make it so it partially covers up the fan on the gfx.

I have some pics to show you how close the card is from when I was building it:

As the title suggests, do you think this is a major prob? I'm a slight novice when it comes to complete builds and I know there is a second pci-e lane underneath which could maybe allow me to house the sc above it in the top pci slot, however the instructions with the mb said to put a single gfx card in the top slot for "optimal performance" etc.....and it would require me to move everything around now. If you guys think it's essential though I'll have to do it....but if so would i get decreased perfomance out of the gfx by moving it to the white pci-e slot?

Thx in advance.

blueball

Re: Is this going to be a problem?

Why not move the GFX card into the other PCIe slot (assuming that it runs at full 16x speed) and then move the soundcard up a slot to give more space between them? Sorted

Registered+
    Thanks

Well the white slot is classed a PCIe 2.0 x16_2 which is technically the same as the blue slot it's housed in now...however the user guide for the mb says:

"In single VGA card mode, use the first PCIe 2.0 x16_1 slot (blue) for a PCIe x 16 graphics card to get better performance."

That's the only reason I hesitated to move it there in the first place.