Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 16 of 18

Thread: Samsung F1 won't install Vista 64. Period

  1. #1
    HEXUS.timelord. Zak33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    I'm a Jessie
    Posts
    34,494
    Thanks
    2,757
    Thanked
    2,842 times in 1,747 posts
    • Zak33's system
      • Storage:
      • Kingston HyperX SSD, Hitachi 1Tb
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Nvidia 1060
      • PSU:
      • Coolermaster 800w
      • Case:
      • Silverstone Fortress FT01
      • Operating System:
      • Win10
      • Internet:
      • Zen FTC uber speedy

    Samsung F1 won't install Vista 64. Period

    I have now tried virtually everything that I can think of to install Vista 64 to my F1. But it won't do it.

    Equipment:
    Intel DQ 965 GF mobo
    Samsung F1
    Various other drives
    Sweat and tears

    The mobo sees the drive.
    I can install XP Pro to it.
    When Vista 64 is installed on another drive, the Vista 64 OS can see and use the F1 as another drive, but not as a boot drive with the OS.

    I've tried formatting it with XP disk
    I've tried deleting all partitions and then installing. (have to use XP disk for that, cos the V64 disk cant see this drive)
    I've tried creating an NTFS partition with XP pro and then installing.. cant see it.
    I've tried creating a partition with V64 running on another drive, and with the F1 as a secondary drive. Nope.

    I've even tried buying it dinner.

    I've surrendered now, and have Vista 64 on my Raptor, and have used the F1 to replace my AAKS WD 400 gig drive for games and data. To do this, I had to use Vista 64's Disk Management (ie right click My Computer, click Manage, click Manage drives.)

    So it's a working drive for anything other than booting or installing V64 to.

    I have even tried using Acronis 10 to copy the full boot drive from my Raptor to the F1, and while Acronis thought it had worked, the PC still failed to boot on the new F1 drive.

    (I have done this on the WD AAKS and it worked fine, and I have also done it on a Hitachi Deathstar, and it's fine too)

    So if anyone else is trying to install V64 on an F1, and the Vista install disk can't see the drive.... you are not alone. Give up and get another drive.

    Quote Originally Posted by Advice Trinity by Knoxville
    "The second you aren't paying attention to the tool you're using, it will take your fingers from you. It does not know sympathy." |
    "If you don't gaffer it, it will gaffer you" | "Belt and braces"

  2. #2
    Senior[ish] Member Singh400's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2,931
    Thanks
    136
    Thanked
    310 times in 247 posts

    Re: Samsung F1 won't install Vista 64. Period

    Errrr, you must be doing something wrong mate. I installed Vista x64 on my Samsung F1 fine.

  3. Received thanks from:

    moogle (20-03-2009)

  4. #3
    NOT Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    5,905
    Thanks
    412
    Thanked
    278 times in 253 posts

    Re: Samsung F1 won't install Vista 64. Period

    I hope this isn't a major problem as I wanted to get a 1TB sammy to use a main OS drive. I'm guessing most buy it and use it as a secondary/backup drive but there must have been some users using it as a main OS drive and if this problem was common it would be known and probably fixed by now.

  5. #4
    Bows out! CAT-THE-FIFTH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Hopefully somewhere less backstabby
    Posts
    28,789
    Thanks
    3,203
    Thanked
    4,456 times in 3,442 posts
    • CAT-THE-FIFTH's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Less E-PEEN
      • CPU:
      • Massive E-PEEN
      • Memory:
      • RGB E-PEEN
      • Storage:
      • Not in any order
      • Graphics card(s):
      • EVEN BIGGER E-PEEN
      • PSU:
      • OVERSIZED
      • Case:
      • UNDERSIZED
      • Operating System:
      • DOS 6.22
      • Monitor(s):
      • NOT USUALLY ON....WHEN I POST
      • Internet:
      • FUNCTIONAL

    Re: Samsung F1 won't install Vista 64. Period

    Your not the only person who seems to have this problem:

    http://forum.ncix.com/forums/index.p...8171&subpage=1


    Those despicable Elk,stealing the pond weed!

  6. Received thanks from:

    moogle (20-03-2009)

  7. #5
    NOT Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    5,905
    Thanks
    412
    Thanked
    278 times in 253 posts

    Re: Samsung F1 won't install Vista 64. Period

    Quote Originally Posted by CAT-THE-FIFTH View Post
    Your not the only person who seems to have this problem:

    http://forum.ncix.com/forums/index.p...8171&subpage=1
    Ugh so it's all depending on your hardware config then...

  8. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Carlisle
    Posts
    4,121
    Thanks
    504
    Thanked
    368 times in 278 posts
    • matty-hodgson's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Abit IP35 Dark Raider
      • CPU:
      • Q6600 @ 4GHz (59'C Under a TRUE Black)
      • Memory:
      • 4GB OCZ DDR2 890MHz (5-4-4-15)
      • Storage:
      • Intel 80GB - Games. Intel 80GB - OS. 1TB Samsung - Storage.
      • Graphics card(s):
      • NVIDIA Zotac GTX 275: 728 Core, 1614 Shader, 1340 Memory
      • PSU:
      • Enermax MODU82+ 625w
      • Case:
      • Antec 300
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 x64
      • Monitor(s):
      • Samsung SM2343BW (2048x1152)
      • Internet:
      • Smallworld 4Mbps

    Re: Samsung F1 won't install Vista 64. Period

    after you have installed Vista 64, does it then boot up fine, restart and then refuse to boot?

  9. #7
    Senior[ish] Member Singh400's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2,931
    Thanks
    136
    Thanked
    310 times in 247 posts

    Re: Samsung F1 won't install Vista 64. Period

    Ok Samsung offer a command line tool. I forget what it is called, but it's provided in a bootable format. Download that, burn it and boot from it. And see if that can see your drive, and if it can, see what it's status is. Have the CD check the drive over.

    And your are sure that your BIOS settings are correct? I remember having a similar problem, my BIOS wouldn't see my HDDs unless I changed a setting in the BIOS.

  10. #8
    HEXUS.timelord. Zak33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    I'm a Jessie
    Posts
    34,494
    Thanks
    2,757
    Thanked
    2,842 times in 1,747 posts
    • Zak33's system
      • Storage:
      • Kingston HyperX SSD, Hitachi 1Tb
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Nvidia 1060
      • PSU:
      • Coolermaster 800w
      • Case:
      • Silverstone Fortress FT01
      • Operating System:
      • Win10
      • Internet:
      • Zen FTC uber speedy

    Re: Samsung F1 won't install Vista 64. Period

    Quote Originally Posted by matty-hodgson View Post
    after you have installed Vista 64, does it then boot up fine, restart and then refuse to boot?
    Vista 64 cant even see the drive. When using the Vista 64 DVD to boot from, it cant see the hdd at all. It's very odd, because, as I said above, I can install XP Pro onto it, and once Vista is on a second drive, IT can see this F1.. so I'm using it right now for data and games. It's fast too... but I cant get Vista to install on it at all. Can't even partition it... it cant see it.

    Quote Originally Posted by Advice Trinity by Knoxville
    "The second you aren't paying attention to the tool you're using, it will take your fingers from you. It does not know sympathy." |
    "If you don't gaffer it, it will gaffer you" | "Belt and braces"

  11. #9
    HEXUS.timelord. Zak33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    I'm a Jessie
    Posts
    34,494
    Thanks
    2,757
    Thanked
    2,842 times in 1,747 posts
    • Zak33's system
      • Storage:
      • Kingston HyperX SSD, Hitachi 1Tb
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Nvidia 1060
      • PSU:
      • Coolermaster 800w
      • Case:
      • Silverstone Fortress FT01
      • Operating System:
      • Win10
      • Internet:
      • Zen FTC uber speedy

    Re: Samsung F1 won't install Vista 64. Period

    Quote Originally Posted by Singh400 View Post
    Ok Samsung offer a command line tool. I forget what it is called, but it's provided in a bootable format. Download that, burn it and boot from it. And see if that can see your drive, and if it can, see what it's status is. Have the CD check the drive over.

    And your are sure that your BIOS settings are correct? I remember having a similar problem, my BIOS wouldn't see my HDDs unless I changed a setting in the BIOS.
    hiya Singh. Thanks for your input cap.

    I'm not gonna carry on trying, cos I have Vista running sweetly on another drive now. But its not a BIOS issue, because I can install on it. I have done.

    Quote Originally Posted by Advice Trinity by Knoxville
    "The second you aren't paying attention to the tool you're using, it will take your fingers from you. It does not know sympathy." |
    "If you don't gaffer it, it will gaffer you" | "Belt and braces"

  12. #10
    Senior[ish] Member Singh400's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2,931
    Thanks
    136
    Thanked
    310 times in 247 posts

    Re: Samsung F1 won't install Vista 64. Period

    Quote Originally Posted by Zak33 View Post
    hiya Singh. Thanks for your input cap.

    I'm not gonna carry on trying, cos I have Vista running sweetly on another drive now. But its not a BIOS issue, because I can install on it. I have done.
    At least try the Samsung Bootable Tool!!

  13. #11
    Senior Member this_is_gav's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    4,841
    Thanks
    175
    Thanked
    247 times in 214 posts

    Re: Samsung F1 won't install Vista 64. Period

    Have you tried the latest Intel 'floppy' drivers from a USB stick when selecting the drive during install?

  14. #12
    Senior Member Tonka777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Leicester
    Posts
    623
    Thanks
    221
    Thanked
    73 times in 53 posts
    • Tonka777's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Z170-A
      • CPU:
      • 6700K
      • Memory:
      • 16gb Vengeance 3000
      • Storage:
      • 128gb 830 & 1Tb+1Tb+500Gb Samsung F1's
      • Graphics card(s):
      • EVGA 670 Signature 2
      • PSU:
      • Antec TruePower 650
      • Case:
      • Lian Li PC7-FW
      • Operating System:
      • 7
      • Monitor(s):
      • Benq E2220HD & Iiyama E1900WS
      • Internet:
      • Sky ADSL2

    Re: Samsung F1 won't install Vista 64. Period

    I had no probs installing Vista64 to a Samsung F1 either. But, i think i did have it set as IDE and not AHCI mode. Could this be causing your problem?

  15. #13
    Registered+
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked
    2 times in 2 posts
    • Lozza81's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte EX58-UD5
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 820 2.66ghz will over clock later as this is sitting under a Thermalright Ultra 120
      • Storage:
      • Samsung 1TB 32mb 7200rpm SATA2 & Maxtor 1TB external
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Gigabyte ATI HD4870X2 2GB
      • PSU:
      • Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050W
      • Case:
      • Thermaltake Spedo Advanced Package with 2 extra 120mm red LED fans
      • Operating System:
      • Vista 64bit
      • Monitor(s):
      • Samusng 22inch 226BW
      • Internet:
      • ADSL2 7mb downstream 1.3mb upstream

    Re: Samsung F1 won't install Vista 64. Period

    Vista 64 Installed fine on my Samsung F1 1TB drive just fine 3 weeks ago with the drive set to IDE in BIOS (default setting) and it NOT set to AHCI and also the Smart feature for the hard drive was also switched OFF. Check those setttings in your BIOS and motherboard manual.

    Also check Samsung's website for a possible firmware update as you could possibly have a drive with older firmwire?

  16. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    302
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked
    18 times in 18 posts
    • synaesthesia's system
      • Motherboard:
      • MSI Z77MA-G45
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i5 3570K
      • Memory:
      • GSkill RipjawX 2133Mhz 8GB
      • Storage:
      • 128GB Samsung 830/2 x 2TB WD Black
      • Graphics card(s):
      • AMD Radeon 6870
      • PSU:
      • Silverstone 750w Modular
      • Case:
      • Corsair Carbide 200R
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 RC1
      • Monitor(s):
      • Samsung 245B 24" TFT
      • Internet:
      • 16Mbit DSL

    Re: Samsung F1 won't install Vista 64. Period

    Installed absolutely fine on my Sammy on an asus P5K-E without any tweaking, in AHCI mode. Seen a lot of trouble on Gigabyte motherboards but all were fixed with the above mentioned bootable fix thingybob. Windows 7 x64 also installs fine on it
    Moo.

  17. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Bedford/Leicester
    Posts
    535
    Thanks
    52
    Thanked
    45 times in 45 posts
    • Hawker1986's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Biostar Tpower X58A / Gigabyte X58A-UD5
      • CPU:
      • i7 950@4Ghz TRUE / i7 920@4Ghz H50-1
      • Memory:
      • 6GB Crucial Ballistix@1336mhz / 6GB Corsair XMS3@1528mhz
      • Storage:
      • 128GB G.Skill Falcon + 1.5TB + 2x400GB / Corsair Force 3 120GB SSD + 1.5TB + 500GB
      • Graphics card(s):
      • 5850@825/1150 / 5870@900/1300
      • PSU:
      • Enermax Liberty 620W / Corsair HX850
      • Case:
      • Antec P182 / Silverstone FT02B
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 x64 Ultimate / Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
      • Monitor(s):
      • Dell E248WFP 24" / Benq G2420HDBL 24"
      • Internet:
      • 10mb Virgin Cable / 24mb Talk Talk ADSL

    Re: Samsung F1 won't install Vista 64. Period

    Its been a while since ive used the drive but when I did I had no problems installing vista x64 :S. Very strange.

    Hawker
    Media Centre: C2D E5300@3.6Ghz : Gigabyte G31M-ES2L : 2GB Crucial Ballistix DDR21066@1106mhz : Sapphire HD5450 : Haupaggue WinTV Nova-T 500 : Seasonic 380W : Corsair X32 32GB SSD : WD 250GB HDD : LG Blu-Ray/HDDVD ROM DVD-RW : Scythe Shuriken BIG Quiet : Lian-Li PC-C37 :
    WHS: Zotac 8200 M-ITX WIFI : AMD 4850e : 4GB G.Skill DDR21000 : 6x2TB : Scythe Shuriken Rev.B Quiet LP : Fractal Design Mini Array R2 :
    Laptop: Packard Bell EasyNote BG45-U-300 : 12" : Dual Core T2390 1.87Ghz : 2GB DDR2800 : Corsair X32 32GB SSD : Intel GMA X3100 :


  18. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Sheffield
    Posts
    842
    Thanks
    35
    Thanked
    24 times in 24 posts
    • mightymouse's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Striker Extreme
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core2Duo Q6600
      • Memory:
      • 2 x 1GB Corsair Dominator PC8500
      • Storage:
      • 2 x 500GB Samsung T166 RAID0, 1 x 500GB Western Digital
      • Graphics card(s):
      • XFX GeForce 8800 GT OC 512MB
      • PSU:
      • Enermax Galaxy 1000W
      • Case:
      • CM Stacker 830 - nVidia
      • Monitor(s):
      • LG 22"
      • Internet:
      • O2 Internet

    Re: Samsung F1 won't install Vista 64. Period

    have no problem here install vista 64 on sammy 1tb too, update bios maybe? and i'm thinking you've tried booting just with the sammy right?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Vista 64bit & 4gb Install
    By Maccer101 in forum Software
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 14-09-2008, 08:30 PM
  2. Vista won't install - CD/DVD drivers not found
    By Howard in forum PC Hardware and Components
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-09-2008, 01:43 PM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-03-2008, 02:06 AM
  4. Vista beta install problem.
    By adam1701 in forum Software
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 25-02-2007, 03:56 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •