Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234
Results 49 to 58 of 58

Thread: Intel Core i7 Thread

  1. #49
    Chillie in here j.o.s.h.1408's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    a place called home
    Posts
    8,506
    Thanks
    750
    Thanked
    254 times in 191 posts
    • j.o.s.h.1408's system
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS P6T Delux
      • CPU:
      • Intel core i7 920 @ 3ghz
      • Memory:
      • 3GB DDR RAM
      • Storage:
      • 1TB Samsung F1, 500GB Seagate baracuda + 320gb Seagate PATA +150GB WD PATA
      • Graphics card(s):
      • EVGA 480GTX SC edition
      • PSU:
      • Seasonic M12 600W Module PSU FTW
      • Case:
      • Lian Li PC-A7010B (the rolls royce of pc cases)
      • Operating System:
      • vista ultimate edition and windows xp
      • Monitor(s):
      • 22inch 2005FPW dell monitor
      • Internet:
      • 24mb BE There Broadband

    Re: Intel Core i7 Thread

    PSU: only 360w...
    jesus, stop right their LOL i would never touch a i7 system copped witha half decent gpu in it if it the psu was that powerful lol.

    diddnt i read somewhere how a i7 cpu draws over 200w on load on its own?

  2. #50
    Senior Member GSte's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Bolton
    Posts
    1,538
    Thanks
    220
    Thanked
    76 times in 64 posts
    • GSte's system
      • Motherboard:
      • P6T Deluxe
      • CPU:
      • i7 920 @ 4.2GHz / TRUE
      • Memory:
      • 6GB GSkill 1600MHz cas6
      • Storage:
      • 250GB Barracuda, 2 x WD 500GB AAKS, 1TB Caviar Black
      • Graphics card(s):
      • GTX470
      • PSU:
      • NorthQ Black Magic Flex 850W
      • Case:
      • X-Clio Windtunnel
      • Operating System:
      • XP Home, Vista Home Premium X64, Win7 Home X64
      • Monitor(s):
      • Samsung 245B
      • Internet:
      • Be Not So Happy

    Re: Intel Core i7 Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by j.o.s.h.1408 View Post
    wow thats impressive! im looking to get a 920 into 3.2ghz in air and it seems like it will be very easy to do so!
    Does it with hardly any voltage increase.

  3. #51
    Chillie in here j.o.s.h.1408's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    a place called home
    Posts
    8,506
    Thanks
    750
    Thanked
    254 times in 191 posts
    • j.o.s.h.1408's system
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS P6T Delux
      • CPU:
      • Intel core i7 920 @ 3ghz
      • Memory:
      • 3GB DDR RAM
      • Storage:
      • 1TB Samsung F1, 500GB Seagate baracuda + 320gb Seagate PATA +150GB WD PATA
      • Graphics card(s):
      • EVGA 480GTX SC edition
      • PSU:
      • Seasonic M12 600W Module PSU FTW
      • Case:
      • Lian Li PC-A7010B (the rolls royce of pc cases)
      • Operating System:
      • vista ultimate edition and windows xp
      • Monitor(s):
      • 22inch 2005FPW dell monitor
      • Internet:
      • 24mb BE There Broadband

    Re: Intel Core i7 Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by GSte View Post
    Does it with hardly any voltage increase.
    probably with the stock fan too!

  4. #52
    Insomnia Robscure's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    London
    Posts
    703
    Thanks
    108
    Thanked
    32 times in 24 posts

    Re: Intel Core i7 Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by dshepsman View Post
    how much would an equivilent i7 cpu/mobo/ram bundle cost if bought as an updrade? £600ish? more?

    so buying a pre built i7 box for £600 looks to be better value at the mo, as it comes with case/psu/hdd etc... unless im missing something.

    i even considered (for 5 seconds mind), to but the dell box, put the mobo/cpu/ram, upgrade the psu and graphics card and flog them and the case on ebay...
    and it would be far cheaper than buying the componants seperately? no?
    Mobo: Gigabyte x58 £193
    CPU: i7 920 £231
    RAM: 6GB Corsair £194

    £618

    This is what you could upgrade your PC to. If you already have a Hard Drive, which you should, and a case, and a good GPU, etc... Then you can get this hardware upgrade for £100 cheaper than the Dell. Albeit you're not getting their case, their 9800 gpu, their 2x 500gb harddrives... which as mentioned could be sold... making it a bargain...

    So I stand corrected, it does appear to be a good deal, but...

    How can they afford to sell products en masse like that unless the hardware you're getting is cheap? Not to mention the cost of labour?

    EDIT: Take into account that the base system is like this: http://configure.euro.dell.com/dells...=D12SX08&s=dhs

    To upgrade to 6gb ram and the 4850 is an extra £200 on top of their £660... so... £800 total...
    Last edited by Robscure; 01-12-2008 at 06:21 PM.

  5. #53
    Chillie in here j.o.s.h.1408's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    a place called home
    Posts
    8,506
    Thanks
    750
    Thanked
    254 times in 191 posts
    • j.o.s.h.1408's system
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS P6T Delux
      • CPU:
      • Intel core i7 920 @ 3ghz
      • Memory:
      • 3GB DDR RAM
      • Storage:
      • 1TB Samsung F1, 500GB Seagate baracuda + 320gb Seagate PATA +150GB WD PATA
      • Graphics card(s):
      • EVGA 480GTX SC edition
      • PSU:
      • Seasonic M12 600W Module PSU FTW
      • Case:
      • Lian Li PC-A7010B (the rolls royce of pc cases)
      • Operating System:
      • vista ultimate edition and windows xp
      • Monitor(s):
      • 22inch 2005FPW dell monitor
      • Internet:
      • 24mb BE There Broadband

    Re: Intel Core i7 Thread

    £800 doesnt seem to cheap now then lol :S

  6. #54
    Senior Member kalniel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    29,027
    Thanks
    1,478
    Thanked
    2,907 times in 2,356 posts
    • kalniel's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte X58A UD3R rev 2
      • CPU:
      • Intel Xeon X5680
      • Memory:
      • 12gb DDR3 2000
      • Graphics card(s):
      • nVidia GTX 1060 6GB
      • PSU:
      • Seasonic 600W
      • Case:
      • Cooler Master HAF 912
      • Operating System:
      • Win 10 Pro x64
      • Monitor(s):
      • Dell U2311H
      • Internet:
      • O2 8mbps

    Re: Intel Core i7 Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by Robscure View Post
    How can they afford to sell products en masse like that unless the hardware you're getting is cheap? Not to mention the cost of labour?
    It's the same cheap hardware you're buying separately, but they're not being ripped off and have one of the largest distribution networks to leverage down prices.

    You're also getting a case, hdd, dvd, Vista(!), assembly costs, disks, manual AND a warranty.

  7. #55
    Senior Member this_is_gav's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Alnwick, Northumberland
    Posts
    4,835
    Thanks
    175
    Thanked
    246 times in 213 posts
    • this_is_gav's system
      • Motherboard:
      • DFI DK X58-T3eH6
      • CPU:
      • Intel i7 920
      • Memory:
      • 12GB Corsair 1333MHz C9
      • Storage:
      • 2xRaptor 150GB (RAID0 300GB), 2.5TB permanent storage
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Nvidia GTX 560 Ti 1GB
      • PSU:
      • Seasonic X-series
      • Case:
      • Lian-Li A70B
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 x64
      • Monitor(s):
      • Dell 2408WFP
      • Internet:
      • 8M ADSL24

    Re: Intel Core i7 Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by this_is_gav View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by magneticman View Post
    How is the UD5? I was thinking of going with gigabyte again but thought i'd go with Asus this time
    It's nice.
    [...]
    I was calling the UD5 every name under the sun for the problems, as I genuinely thought it was that and a dodgy BIOS which was causing the problems, but have to retract that now.
    You know sometimes you just wish you'd never said anything?

    Come home tonight, switch PC on, and it's on a constant loop of 2 seconds on, 2 seconds off, 2 seconds on, 2 seconds off, etc. It's not the rest of the RAM and I'm fairly sure it's not the PSU, so I'm down to motherboard and CPU. Doing some searching this seems to be quite a common problem for various Gigabyte boards pre-i7, but whether it's the boards themselves which is causing the problem or another component which causes it, I've no idea. There's no clues as to what is the problem.

    Motherboard, CPU and RAM are all going back to Scan and I'll let them work out what's going on. Unless they fancy sending me out some spare kit to test stuff with.

    Most frustrating build I've ever done. There's at least 2 things broken/not quite right of the 3 I replaced.

  8. #56
    Chillie in here j.o.s.h.1408's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    a place called home
    Posts
    8,506
    Thanks
    750
    Thanked
    254 times in 191 posts
    • j.o.s.h.1408's system
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS P6T Delux
      • CPU:
      • Intel core i7 920 @ 3ghz
      • Memory:
      • 3GB DDR RAM
      • Storage:
      • 1TB Samsung F1, 500GB Seagate baracuda + 320gb Seagate PATA +150GB WD PATA
      • Graphics card(s):
      • EVGA 480GTX SC edition
      • PSU:
      • Seasonic M12 600W Module PSU FTW
      • Case:
      • Lian Li PC-A7010B (the rolls royce of pc cases)
      • Operating System:
      • vista ultimate edition and windows xp
      • Monitor(s):
      • 22inch 2005FPW dell monitor
      • Internet:
      • 24mb BE There Broadband

    Re: Intel Core i7 Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by this_is_gav View Post
    You know sometimes you just wish you'd never said anything?

    Come home tonight, switch PC on, and it's on a constant loop of 2 seconds on, 2 seconds off, 2 seconds on, 2 seconds off, etc. It's not the rest of the RAM and I'm fairly sure it's not the PSU, so I'm down to motherboard and CPU. Doing some searching this seems to be quite a common problem for various Gigabyte boards pre-i7, but whether it's the boards themselves which is causing the problem or another component which causes it, I've no idea. There's no clues as to what is the problem.

    Motherboard, CPU and RAM are all going back to Scan and I'll let them work out what's going on. Unless they fancy sending me out some spare kit to test stuff with.

    Most frustrating build I've ever done. There's at least 2 things broken/not quite right of the 3 I replaced.
    glad i diddnt rush and buy it then i think your just unlucky, however it is to early to tell what the bugs/issues are atm. wait anotehr month and we will all get the clear picture on the issues with the i7's

  9. #57
    Senior Member this_is_gav's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Alnwick, Northumberland
    Posts
    4,835
    Thanks
    175
    Thanked
    246 times in 213 posts
    • this_is_gav's system
      • Motherboard:
      • DFI DK X58-T3eH6
      • CPU:
      • Intel i7 920
      • Memory:
      • 12GB Corsair 1333MHz C9
      • Storage:
      • 2xRaptor 150GB (RAID0 300GB), 2.5TB permanent storage
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Nvidia GTX 560 Ti 1GB
      • PSU:
      • Seasonic X-series
      • Case:
      • Lian-Li A70B
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 7 x64
      • Monitor(s):
      • Dell 2408WFP
      • Internet:
      • 8M ADSL24

    Re: Intel Core i7 Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by j.o.s.h.1408 View Post
    glad i diddnt rush and buy it then i think your just unlucky, however it is to early to tell what the bugs/issues are atm. wait anotehr month and we will all get the clear picture on the issues with the i7's
    Oh, I don't for a second think it's a problem as such. I've just got something(s) which aren't working properly. I've not seen another x58 board show these symptoms, Gigabyte or otherwise, so it's presumably just bad luck.

  10. #58
    Insomnia Robscure's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    London
    Posts
    703
    Thanks
    108
    Thanked
    32 times in 24 posts

    Re: Intel Core i7 Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by this_is_gav View Post
    Oh, I don't for a second think it's a problem as such. I've just got something(s) which aren't working properly. I've not seen another x58 board show these symptoms, Gigabyte or otherwise, so it's presumably just bad luck.
    I hope I don't have any problems like that with my i7... although I'm getting the Asus P6T Deluxe... gav, you're making me hesitant!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. PSU Calculator
    By Hullz-Modz in forum PC Hardware and Components
    Replies: 146
    Last Post: 10-04-2008, 07:07 PM
  2. Core 2 quad enthusiasts thread
    By pompalomp in forum PC Hardware and Components
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-10-2007, 09:17 PM
  3. intel core duo e6300 or amd dual core ?
    By wazi in forum PC Hardware and Components
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 03-11-2006, 04:39 AM
  4. Intel Core 2 Duo Motheboards ???
    By EtheAv8r in forum PC Hardware and Components
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 31-07-2006, 11:04 AM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-03-2006, 02:40 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •