Page 10 of 41 FirstFirst ... 78910111213203040 ... LastLast
Results 145 to 160 of 646

Thread: P5K Deluxe Wifi AP Thread.

  1. #145
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    423
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked
    2 times in 2 posts
    what ram have you got there mr clunk?

  2. #146
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    684
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked
    5 times in 5 posts
    nearlly 4gz with a quad, I bet the mosfets are toasty

  3. #147
    Flat cap, Whippets, Cave. Clunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    11,056
    Thanks
    360
    Thanked
    725 times in 459 posts
    Quote Originally Posted by aidanjt View Post
    What sort of temps are you getting at that frequency?.. my C2D cores are idling at 21-24C now that the AS5 has set btw
    Around 80c under load, not everyday temps

    Quote Originally Posted by 5aboy View Post
    what ram have you got there mr clunk?
    Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC2-8500.

    Quote Originally Posted by Harkin View Post
    nearlly 4gz with a quad, I bet the mosfets are toasty
    Hot, but not red hot, got a 92mm yate loon dangling in front of them
    Quote Originally Posted by Blitzen View Post
    stupid betond belief.
    You owe it to yourself to click here really.

  4. #148
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Hamilton
    Posts
    1,120
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked
    22 times in 21 posts
    pity Chelsea won
    yep it'a a little wuff.

    nice 1 clunk looks like best memory you've had for a while works well with the new mem controller

  5. #149
    Flat cap, Whippets, Cave. Clunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    11,056
    Thanks
    360
    Thanked
    725 times in 459 posts
    Blimey 1344mhz Ive run out of cpu on the 9 and 8 multis!

    http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=199476
    Quote Originally Posted by Blitzen View Post
    stupid betond belief.
    You owe it to yourself to click here really.

  6. #150
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Hamilton
    Posts
    1,120
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked
    22 times in 21 posts
    Asus P5K Deluxe - Intel P35 Bearlake + Intel E6600 B1 ES / Q6600 Kentsfield / X6800

    post#3 is interesting about the CPU Voltage Damper Option

  7. #151
    Flat cap, Whippets, Cave. Clunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    11,056
    Thanks
    360
    Thanked
    725 times in 459 posts
    Yes, Ive been using it. I forgot I had enabled it, and I noticed my temps were up a lot, but they would be because the voltage is about 0.5 higher than it would be without it
    Quote Originally Posted by Blitzen View Post
    stupid betond belief.
    You owe it to yourself to click here really.

  8. #152
    Senior Member GSte's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Bolton
    Posts
    1,538
    Thanks
    220
    Thanked
    76 times in 64 posts
    • GSte's system
      • Motherboard:
      • P6T Deluxe
      • CPU:
      • i7 920 @ 4.2GHz / TRUE
      • Memory:
      • 6GB GSkill 1600MHz cas6
      • Storage:
      • 250GB Barracuda, 2 x WD 500GB AAKS, 1TB Caviar Black
      • Graphics card(s):
      • GTX470
      • PSU:
      • NorthQ Black Magic Flex 850W
      • Case:
      • X-Clio Windtunnel
      • Operating System:
      • XP Home, Vista Home Premium X64, Win7 Home X64
      • Monitor(s):
      • Samsung 245B
      • Internet:
      • Be Not So Happy
    Quote Originally Posted by Clunk View Post
    Blimey 1344mhz Ive run out of cpu on the 9 and 8 multis!

    http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=199476
    It is very good RAM, got some myself the other day. What volts are you giving it to get those frequencies? Not that I could reach them on this 975 board anyway.... P5B deluxe is in transit though

  9. #153
    Flat cap, Whippets, Cave. Clunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    11,056
    Thanks
    360
    Thanked
    725 times in 459 posts
    2.3v with a fan directly on them. The Team ones needed 2.45 to get even close to these.

    I thought 975 were good for tight timings? Ah well, youll love the P5B
    Quote Originally Posted by Blitzen View Post
    stupid betond belief.
    You owe it to yourself to click here really.

  10. #154
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Hamilton
    Posts
    1,120
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked
    22 times in 21 posts
    and I noticed my temps were up a lot, but they would be because the voltage is about 0.5 higher than it would be without it
    yep i guess

  11. #155
    Senior Member GSte's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Bolton
    Posts
    1,538
    Thanks
    220
    Thanked
    76 times in 64 posts
    • GSte's system
      • Motherboard:
      • P6T Deluxe
      • CPU:
      • i7 920 @ 4.2GHz / TRUE
      • Memory:
      • 6GB GSkill 1600MHz cas6
      • Storage:
      • 250GB Barracuda, 2 x WD 500GB AAKS, 1TB Caviar Black
      • Graphics card(s):
      • GTX470
      • PSU:
      • NorthQ Black Magic Flex 850W
      • Case:
      • X-Clio Windtunnel
      • Operating System:
      • XP Home, Vista Home Premium X64, Win7 Home X64
      • Monitor(s):
      • Samsung 245B
      • Internet:
      • Be Not So Happy
    Quote Originally Posted by Clunk View Post

    I thought 975 were good for tight timings?
    Don't seem to be as good as 965, and the frequency the board can handle maxes out at 470 same prob on a few 975 boards depending on manufacturer

  12. #156
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    406
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked
    13 times in 13 posts
    • Agrippa's system
      • Motherboard:
      • ASRock X299 Taichi XE
      • CPU:
      • Intel i7 7820X @ 4.8GHz (delid)
      • Memory:
      • 4x8GB G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-3200 C14 @ 3600 CL15
      • Storage:
      • Samsung SM961 256GB, 850 EVO 1TBx2, 850 EVO 250GB, 840 512GB, Seagate 1TB, 2TB, 8x8TB
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Asus GTX 1080 Ti RoG Strix
      • PSU:
      • Corsair RM1000x
      • Case:
      • Lian Li D8000
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro x64
      • Monitor(s):
      • Acer Predator Z35P
      • Internet:
      • 500/500 Fiber
    Pretty impressive work there Mr. Clunk, by both you and the ram.

    Have you had any issues at all with the board so far? Stability or otherwise? I have to say it's looking increasingly good from your adventures here. I just intend to clock an E6600/Q6600 (or a Xeon X3220) up to 3GHz and then leave it there until my next upgrade, which ought to be a doddle compared to your work.
    Last edited by Agrippa; 20-05-2007 at 03:30 AM.

  13. #157
    Flat cap, Whippets, Cave. Clunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    11,056
    Thanks
    360
    Thanked
    725 times in 459 posts
    Every quirk that I've encountered so far has been mentioned in this thread, the only issues I've had were from a dying set of ram.

    Annoying bits;

    Sata ports blocked, possibly only one.

    Sata ports on backwards..L-shaped cables go accross the board instead of away from it

    Piss poor bundle, especially for a deluxe model, just the basic stuff supplied, a few crap cables and bits and bobs.

    Crap Jmicron controller again.



    Good stuff;

    Awesome overclocker.

    Great for Ram overclocking as well.

    Likes tight timings.

    No chipset strap changeover at 400fsb (or anywhere that I've found yet).

    Heatpipe things fit properly.

    Recovers well from a bad overclcock 99.9% of the time.

    Nicely set out bios, everything in one place for overclocking.

    Loads of voltage tweaks.

    Voltage damper to help get rid of droop.

    500+fsb with quad core.

    Theres probably loads that Ive missed
    Quote Originally Posted by Blitzen View Post
    stupid betond belief.
    You owe it to yourself to click here really.

  14. #158
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    406
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked
    13 times in 13 posts
    • Agrippa's system
      • Motherboard:
      • ASRock X299 Taichi XE
      • CPU:
      • Intel i7 7820X @ 4.8GHz (delid)
      • Memory:
      • 4x8GB G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-3200 C14 @ 3600 CL15
      • Storage:
      • Samsung SM961 256GB, 850 EVO 1TBx2, 850 EVO 250GB, 840 512GB, Seagate 1TB, 2TB, 8x8TB
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Asus GTX 1080 Ti RoG Strix
      • PSU:
      • Corsair RM1000x
      • Case:
      • Lian Li D8000
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro x64
      • Monitor(s):
      • Acer Predator Z35P
      • Internet:
      • 500/500 Fiber
    Sounds good, I must say. Sadly, the blocked SATA port(s) is probably a dealbreaker for me, considering an 8800GTX will probably reside in the first PCI-E. The DS4 from Gigabyte may be an option too, but all in all I think I'm still favouring the P5B. Especially considering it's been guaranteed to work with the new processors.

    Good to see you're having fun though.

  15. #159
    smells
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    345
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked
    3 times in 3 posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Agrippa View Post
    Sounds good, I must say. Sadly, the blocked SATA port(s) is probably a dealbreaker for me, considering an 8800GTX will probably reside in the first PCI-E. The DS4 from Gigabyte may be an option too, but all in all I think I'm still favouring the P5B. Especially considering it's been guaranteed to work with the new processors.

    Good to see you're having fun though.
    Had mine for a few weeks and using an 8800GTX, you can use all the SATA ports by using a straight SATA connector in port 0 and an angled connector in 3. This means the connectors (just) avoid interfering with the 8800GTX's components.

    Both types of connector are included with the board.

  16. #160
    Flat cap, Whippets, Cave. Clunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    11,056
    Thanks
    360
    Thanked
    725 times in 459 posts
    Mine only came with straight cables, I have some right angled ones on the way. The only right angled ones I have, mean that the cables go accross the board, which is no use.

    I'm guessing you have a waterblock on the GTX?

    Heres one with an air cooler on, and it blocks 4 of them.

    How you finding the board then mate? Got any screenies for us?
    Quote Originally Posted by Blitzen View Post
    stupid betond belief.
    You owe it to yourself to click here really.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Asus P5B DeLuxe WiFi AP
    By billbruen in forum PC Hardware and Components
    Replies: 89
    Last Post: 19-04-2008, 07:37 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •