Page 5 of 41 FirstFirst ... 2345678152535 ... LastLast
Results 65 to 80 of 646

Thread: P5K Deluxe Wifi AP Thread.

  1. #65
    Flat cap, Whippets, Cave. Clunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    11,056
    Thanks
    360
    Thanked
    725 times in 459 posts
    Get some results posted, I want to see how it does with other cpus.
    Quote Originally Posted by Blitzen View Post
    stupid betond belief.
    You owe it to yourself to click here really.

  2. #66
    Flat cap, Whippets, Cave. Clunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    11,056
    Thanks
    360
    Thanked
    725 times in 459 posts
    Last edited by Clunk; 15-05-2007 at 01:33 PM.
    Quote Originally Posted by Blitzen View Post
    stupid betond belief.
    You owe it to yourself to click here really.

  3. #67
    Hexus.net daveham's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    On the run!
    Posts
    2,372
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked
    60 times in 18 posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Clunk View Post
    Just found idiotic design flaw number 3.

    The cmos jumper, is impossible to get to without removing the graphics card, and even then, its really awkward to get to.

    Im not entirely sure why I needed to reset the cmos, all I did was reboot and it wouldnt start, just black screen. Lets hope the cmos clear works
    you need the daveham patented remote bios resetter! you wouldn't listen would you!

  4. #68
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Hamilton
    Posts
    1,120
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked
    22 times in 21 posts
    Great going clunk is the 7x500 a suicide shot or reasonably stable. How are temps standing up??

  5. #69
    Flat cap, Whippets, Cave. Clunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    11,056
    Thanks
    360
    Thanked
    725 times in 459 posts
    Quote Originally Posted by daveham View Post
    you need the daveham patented remote bios resetter! you wouldn't listen would you!
    I tried your suggestion of pressing sausage meat into all the pci slots, but it didnt work. It was pork and leek if that makes any difference?

    Quote Originally Posted by Supershanks View Post
    Great going clunk is the 7x500 a suicide shot or reasonably stable. How are temps standing up??
    Not tried for stability yet, Im pretty sure the 7x one isnt stable, but the ram bandwidth was HUGE, 8300 in sandra
    Quote Originally Posted by Blitzen View Post
    stupid betond belief.
    You owe it to yourself to click here really.

  6. #70
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Hamilton
    Posts
    1,120
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked
    22 times in 21 posts
    ram bandwidth was HUGE, 8300 in sandra
    Muhuhhurrrrrrrrrr

    It was pork and leek if that makes any difference?
    Thought u knew better than that, that only works with ddr3, u need beef & tomato for your board

  7. #71
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Hamilton
    Posts
    1,120
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked
    22 times in 21 posts
    Interesting review here Anandtech DDR3 vs. DDR2 - From conclusion:-
    That means the real performance surprise in these tests is that the revised memory controller in the Bearlake chipset improves buffered memory bandwidth by 16% to 18%, with a real-world improvement in gaming and application performance of 2 to 5%. This is a pretty impressive improvement for a memory controller update.
    DDR3 is as clunk said earlier isn't going to be worth gretting till late this year/2008 depending on price v ddr2.

    So the new memory controller is the source of the improverd banwidth u noticed

    luck

  8. #72
    Flat cap, Whippets, Cave. Clunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    11,056
    Thanks
    360
    Thanked
    725 times in 459 posts
    Aye, Im pretty sure theres no chipset strap changeover at 400fsb either, but as I was testing, my ram finally died, so thats that for a couple of weeks
    Quote Originally Posted by Blitzen View Post
    stupid betond belief.
    You owe it to yourself to click here really.

  9. #73
    radix lecti dave87's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    England
    Posts
    12,806
    Thanks
    657
    Thanked
    931 times in 634 posts
    • dave87's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus
      • CPU:
      • i5 3470k under Corsair H80 WC
      • Memory:
      • 8gb DDR3
      • Storage:
      • 240gb SSD + 120gb SSD
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Asus HD7950
      • PSU:
      • XFX 600w Modular
      • Case:
      • Lian Li PC-A05FNB + Acoustipack
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro
      • Monitor(s):
      • 2x Dell S2309W (1920x1080)
      • Internet:
      • BT Infinity Option 2
    Clunk- are you running DDR2 or DDR3? I'm confused

  10. #74
    Flat cap, Whippets, Cave. Clunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    11,056
    Thanks
    360
    Thanked
    725 times in 459 posts
    I WAS running DDR2, and now its dead
    Quote Originally Posted by Blitzen View Post
    stupid betond belief.
    You owe it to yourself to click here really.

  11. #75
    radix lecti dave87's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    England
    Posts
    12,806
    Thanks
    657
    Thanked
    931 times in 634 posts
    • dave87's system
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus
      • CPU:
      • i5 3470k under Corsair H80 WC
      • Memory:
      • 8gb DDR3
      • Storage:
      • 240gb SSD + 120gb SSD
      • Graphics card(s):
      • Asus HD7950
      • PSU:
      • XFX 600w Modular
      • Case:
      • Lian Li PC-A05FNB + Acoustipack
      • Operating System:
      • Windows 10 Pro
      • Monitor(s):
      • 2x Dell S2309W (1920x1080)
      • Internet:
      • BT Infinity Option 2
    Ah, was just reading the comments about DDR3 and the new memory controller, and it confused me.

    You getting the same to replace it? or time for something different? Perhaps a 2x2gb Kit?

  12. #76
    Flat cap, Whippets, Cave. Clunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    11,056
    Thanks
    360
    Thanked
    725 times in 459 posts
    Depends if I can get a refund, Ive had it about 6 weeks. I wont be going for ddr3 anyway, and 2x2gb is pointless for me because im on xp home 32bit
    Quote Originally Posted by Blitzen View Post
    stupid betond belief.
    You owe it to yourself to click here really.

  13. #77
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Hamilton
    Posts
    1,120
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked
    22 times in 21 posts
    Clunk- are you running DDR2 or DDR3? I'm confused
    P5K = ddr2
    P5K3 = ddr3

    see ASUS Bearlake P35 Chipset DDR2 P5K Deluxe and DDR3 P5K3 Deluxe (56K warning)



    Seems this is the bios setting to help vcore:-
    CPU Voltage Damper option in bios reduces vcore droop by as much as 75%. From approximately 0.032v droop to 0.008v droop! Finally, Asus answers our prayers in regards to vcore droop
    Asus P5K Deluxe - Intel P35 Bearlake + E6600 B1 / Q6600 B3

    my ram finally died, so thats that for a couple of weeks
    Hope pitstop ain't long
    Last edited by Supershanks; 16-05-2007 at 03:52 PM.

  14. #78
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    423
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked
    2 times in 2 posts
    hope alls going well, im really hoping you can get hold of some of those 90degree connectors to see if itll work - im very interested in p35, and asus make good boards, but really really really poor decision regarding placement of sata;s.

  15. #79
    Flat cap, Whippets, Cave. Clunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    11,056
    Thanks
    360
    Thanked
    725 times in 459 posts
    Got no ram at the moment, shouldnt be long though.

    Ill do a pic of the right angled connectors in a minute.

    Update on the right angled SATA cables. The ones I have wont fit properly. Firstly, they face the wrong way, so that means that the cables would be running accross the motherboard, which is no use because of the southbridge heatsink.

    Secondly, when the first cable is plugged into the socket, the second one wont fit because the hard, right angled part of the plug covers the next SATA socket. For me, I'm going to put up with losing 2 sata sockets, or rather 1 x sata socket, as I have the jmicron controller disabled anyway.
    Last edited by Clunk; 17-05-2007 at 07:34 PM.
    Quote Originally Posted by Blitzen View Post
    stupid betond belief.
    You owe it to yourself to click here really.

  16. #80
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    423
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked
    2 times in 2 posts
    thanks for doing that - doesnt look like we will be able to run them one going forward, one going backward either?

    thats really poor from them. but does this mean that i lose 1xp35 and 1xjmicron?

    its just that i am considering getting another pair of seagate 7200.10's so i can run 4-way raid0 + 2 other sata hard discs + sata dvdrw.

    doesnt look like thisll happen though, does it. i think its odd that ich9r only has 6 sata ports,

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 2 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 2 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Asus P5B DeLuxe WiFi AP
    By billbruen in forum PC Hardware and Components
    Replies: 89
    Last Post: 19-04-2008, 07:37 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •